My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 3 … Body Stress Release

backAn important part of the natural healing program I am using to manage (and eventually overcome) Parkinson’s, is Body Stress Release. BSR uses a ‘pressure-point’ technique to relieve tension and stress from the muscles (primarily along the spine), thereby allowing nerve impulses to flow more freely.

Parkinson’s is a neurological disorder, thought primarily to result from a deficiency of the dopamine neurotransmitter. Dopamine is involved in the part of the brain that controls movement. Simply put, a deficiency of dopamine impairs the flow of nerve impulses from the brain to the muscles resulting in trembling and other symptoms.

When I first started doing BSR three years ago (in 2010), my left arm was trembling constantly and my right wrist had just started trembling. Within three months, the trembling had diminished by approximately 75%, which for me was awesome! These days, if I am too long between BSR treatments, the trembling in my arms increases noticeably.

BSR makes no claims relating to Parkinson’s, but clearly for me it works. It seems that muscle tension in the back further impairs the flow of nerve impulses and BSR relieves this tension.

I’m still learning about Parkinson’s (as is the medical community), but my focus and intention is to heal it, not simply to control the symptoms using drugs. Healing the condition means healing the substantia nigra part of the mid-brain and this means providing it with the appropriate nutrients to effect healing. So, in addition to BSR, I’m on a really healthy, fat-based diet.

I believe that BSR is an important part of the healing process, although I don’t know to what degree … yet … and I would advocate it for anybody experiencing back-related health issues. In the meantime, it is giving me great drug-free relief from the symptoms.

For whatever you’re experiencing, have an awesomely symptom-free day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 3 … Body Stress Release

  1. Sorry to hear that you have this disability. From your posts you have a good mental attitude and if any one can overcome this, I know that you can. And if not, I know that you will still take life by your hands and enjoy to the full.
    Best wishes.

  2. Hi Fred, Thank you for sharing your experience with Parkinson’s. I was just diagnosed at Christmas and am searching for a healthy alternative to meds as I am not accustomed to putting meds into my body. As a result of your blog my wife and I are looking into Body Stress Release. I would be very interested in learning about your diet. From our reading we have seen that a higher cholesterol may not be all that bad as some fats help protect brain cells. Look forward to hearing from you. Good luck to you in your journey. Look forward to sharing information.
    Regards,
    Gary

  3. Hi Fred,

    Thank you so much for the information on BSR and diet. I have looked into a ketogenic diet for my father, but once he had kidney stones twice, he revolves his treatment around preventing the horrific experiences he went through. He was eating handfuls of raw almonds every day, which might have led to his problem. Regardless, there have been articles linking ketogenic diets to uric acid kidney stones, perhaps due to increased acidity in the urine. Are you taking any steps to prevent this? Do you have any research that might counter what I know on this topic?

    Thanks!

    • Thank you for this information Jonathan. I wasn’t aware that the ketogenic diet could cause kidney stones, so I will definitely look into it. Actually, I’m not really on a strict ketogenic diet. It is high fat but not ketogenic. Cheers! Fred

Leave a comment