The Beauty and Benefits of Vulnerability

times squareI am standing in the middle of Times Square, stark naked, at the height of rush hour. I am completely exposed, feeling more vulnerable than I have ever felt in my life!

HOLY CRAP!

Have you ever had this feeling?

A few times, you say.

Not a comfortable feeling, is it?

Vulnerability is something we tend to avoid … like the plague! It is certainly something I have shied away from. Not that I did it consciously. I didn’t think, “I really don’t want to put myself in a vulnerable situation, revealing my innate vulnerability.” You know, my soft ’emotional’ underbelly. It was more like, “What, are you nuts? Why would I want to risk making a fool of myself like that?”

Some people might accuse me of being a coward. I like to think of myself more as sensible!

According to Google, vulnerable is defined as, exposed to the possibility of being attacked or harmed, either physically or emotionally.

I don’t know about you, but the idea of exposing myself to physical or emotional harm purely for kicks (even for self-development) is rather unappealing. It’s not high on my bucket list!

And yet, to avoid vulnerability is to cheat yourself out of potentially rewarding life experiences. Experiences that could provide lasting memories. Not to mention a healthy boost to your self-esteem.

I was inspired to write this post after reading a post by a fellow blogger, because it brought vulnerability into my conscious awareness at a time when I was wrestling with inferiority and cowardice, two character ‘challenges’ I faced growing up.

I think, in many corners, showing vulnerability is seen as a weakness, and yet, quite the opposite is true. It takes great strength and courage to allow yourself to be vulnerable. Besides, isn’t it better to have a life filled with oh wells, rather than one filled with what ifs?

So put yourself out there. Make yourself vulnerable. Tell someone how you feel about them. Share your dreams. Do something you’ve been ‘too afraid’ to do. Think of it as an exercise in developing courage … without going to the extreme of standing naked in Times Square!

6 comments on “The Beauty and Benefits of Vulnerability

  1. Not on my bucket list either…lol just wearing a bathing suit is enough for me! But your post is great, we need to just feel free to be us, and say and do what is in our heart, Not sure we need to be naked to do it but… maybe for some that is what they feel and that is ok!

  2. This is a great post, especially the thoughts “It takes great strength and courage to allow yourself to be vulnerable”; yes this is SO true. It takes great moral character to show your vulnerability and humility; and also
    “isn’t it better to have a life filled with oh wells, rather than one filled with what ifs?”; yes, i so agree, to enable us to shake off any regrets that serve no purpose.

  3. Seriously Fred … this is the last song I wrote.
    Get out of my head. 🙂

    I speak of love and watch the fear grow in your eyes
    Who knows why you are so terrified
    You build another wall so your heart has a place to hide
    And once again you’re left with your pride

    And once again I start to chip away at your wall
    Knowing we’ll have nothing, if we don’t have it all
    No one needs to always stand so tall
    And baby I’ll be here to catch you if you fall

    Even you
    Can let down all your guard
    Even you
    Can wish with all your might upon a star
    Even you
    Can learn to love with all your heart
    Even you
    Can be vulnerable

    I know you’ll fight this till your dying breath
    When the worst thing that could happen is I’ll love you to death

    Even you
    Can let down all your guard
    Even you
    Can wish with all your might upon a star
    Even you
    Can learn to love with all your heart
    Even you
    Can be vulnerable

Leave a Reply

