Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #37 … Minimizing symptoms through present moment awareness!

homeostasisIn my last post, I talked about minimizing trembling. One of the techniques I discussed, is focusing on my breath while consciously relaxing every muscle in my body. In other words, using present moment awareness.

The same holds true for walking. Present moment awareness helps me walk normally. Whenever I find myself shuffle walking, I stop, take a deep breath, say to myself, reset the stride, relax the hands, take a big step and go. Then I count every other step and clap my hands every 10th step. When I do this, I walk normally.

Present moment awareness can be used to minimize several other symptoms including:

  • Loss of balance [my most challenging symptom]
  • Freezing
  • Clenching
  • Slowness of movement

These symptoms are most troublesome for me when I’m doing things around the house, particularly when my mind is preoccupied with other things.

Loss of balance and freezing [particularly when combined] can be quite troublesome … there is nothing quite as electrifying as losing your balance and not being able to move your feet. But when I bring my mind into the present moment by telling myself to take a big step, then lift my knees up as I step, it helps me to maintain my balance and overcome freezing.

Similarly, if I spread my feet shoulder width apart, hold my hands in front of me as if I’m holding a ball, then turn from side to side, my balance is fine. I will admit, it is a challenge to do this [and a little bit weird] while carrying on a conversation.

When I notice that I’m clenching, I take a deep breath and consciously relax my hands. Clapping my hands and practising exploding hands [make a fist and explode my fingers outwards] also helps offset clenching.

When I am experiencing slowness of movement [it usually happens when I’m not thinking about what I’m doing], I clap my hands really fast and yell, YES!

Eckhart Tolle says, present moment consciousness is the purpose of life! All of the techniques I described above require me to be in the present moment.

It seems apparent that part of the purpose of this neurological condition is to guide me to present moment living, to force me into living in the now, which puts me in direct alignment and connection with the universal-energetic-intelligence! This is why I never say that I’m battling a disease. Rather, I believe that I am learning from this experience and I’m becoming more spiritually conscious!

This condition I’ve been diagnosed with is not my enemy, it is my teacher! And this, is awesome!

4 comments on “Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #37 … Minimizing symptoms through present moment awareness!

  1. Wonderful ideas, Fred. I learned many of your techniques through the LSVT BIG program, including conscious walking,, and also by practicing qigong. The real challenge, which you seem to have mastered, is to embrace the need to think about every movement instead of resenting the need to do so. That is where the spiritual practice espoused by Eckart Tolle, A Course in Miracles, Buddhism and many other paths can provide us with the vision to not falter.

  2. Fred – This post is an inspiring psychological, spiritual, and emotional roadmap to healing. Thank you! You’re right, it’s a vitally important challenge.

Leave a Reply

