Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #24 … Work hard, believe and persevere – Lessons from Bruce Springsteen!

bruceHighways jammed with broken heroes on a last chance power drive

– Bruce Springsteen, Born to Run 

I’m presently reading Bruce Springsteen’s autobiography, Born to Run. It is an interesting read, filled with fascinating stories and lots of adjectives… many knee slapping, foot stomping, head scratching, eye popping, mind blowing, gut wrenching descriptions of Bruce’s personal and professional life. He tells it all and bares his soul… the good, the bad and the ugly… including his lifelong challenge with depression and his difficult relationship with his father [who interestingly enough, experienced parkinson’s.]

What struck me most about Springsteen’s story is the fact that he stuck with it for many many years, through many setbacks, disappointments and rejections, all the while living on little or no money with nothing but a dream and the love of music to motivate him. His determination, his unfailing belief in himself and his willingness to learn from his experiences served him very well.

There’s a lesson here, particularly for those of us working diligently to recover our health, which is, if you work hard, believe in yourself and what you are doing and if you persevere through the up’s and downs… the difficult times… your journey will bear fruit! You will achieve success and you will indeed recover your health!

Cause tramps like us, baby we were born to run!

8 comments on “Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #24 … Work hard, believe and persevere – Lessons from Bruce Springsteen!

  1. Hi Fred! I’ve been a fan of Bruce Springsteen since 1972. Like you I find his songs to be deeply inspiring. Here are a few lines from the song Badlands that seem appropriate in the context of your blog and the challenging journey we find ourselves on now (I recommend singing these lines in a rising crescendo of energetic release while driving with the windows down):

    I believe in the love
    that you gave me
    I believe in the faith
    that can save me
    I believe and I hope and I pray
    that someday it may raise me
    above these Badlands!

  2. It seems like every time I visit your blog you have just posted exactly what I need for the day. I woke up this morning and visited a young onset forum I’m part of and was reading about the frustrations of folks having their loved ones talk about them getting better when we all get worse and another post reminding a newcomer that this is a progressive disease and that we all get worse. I felt like I was on an island every time I post because I believe that we can get better, that I can get better, that others with PD can get better. And I will not give up on this belief and so far I get better every month since I was diagnosed, a little bit at a time, with occasional setbacks and then some improvement again. Those in my life see it and luckily I have close friends who believe I’ll get better also. And my naturopath has a little quality of life scale which is great so I can track my progress. I’ve gone from a 800 to a 118 in 6 months (with 300 and below being quality of life for someone without PD) But I get a lot of people especially those with PD that shake their head. It’s like they think I’m delusional when I talk about getting better. So thank you for believing also and for writing about it! I know the true test for me is staying in this place for longer than the two years I’ve had this disease. You are further down this path than me.

    I grew up listening to Bruce Springsteen and love the passion in his music, will have to check out his autobiography.

    My favorite line from Thunder Road

    You can hide ‘neath your covers
    And study your pain
    Make crosses from your lovers
    Throw roses in the rain
    Waste your summer praying in vain
    For a saviour to rise from these streets
    Well now I’m no hero
    That’s understood
    All the redemption I can offer girl
    Is beneath this dirty hood
    With a chance to make it good somehow
    Hey what else can we do now ?
    Except roll down the window
    And let the wind blow
    Back your hair
    Well the night’s busting open
    These two lanes will take us anywhere
    We got one last chance to make it real
    To trade in these wings on some wheels
    Climb in back
    Heaven’s waiting on down the tracks

    I hope you have a wonderful day and never give up believing! And thank you again for writing! I believe you are capable of healing!

  3. I love the first lines also:-) I hope you are able to pass into an easier place. It is always amazing to me how much hides within our body, both from our own life and I believe from our ancestors. I don’t know if you are a Mary Oliver fan but this is my favorite poem.

    Wild Geese

    You do not have to be good.
    You do not have to walk on your knees
    for a hundred miles through the desert repenting.
    You only have to let the soft animal of your body
    love what it loves.

    Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
    Meanwhile the world goes on.
    Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
    are moving across the landscapes,
    over the prairies and the deep trees,
    the mountains and the rivers.
    Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
    are heading home again.

    Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
    the world offers itself to your imagination,
    calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting —
    over and over announcing your place
    in the family of things.

    by Mary Oliver

  4. Hi Fred. Please advise correct cannabis oil dosages regarding THC and CBD strain. How are you coping wuth it thusfar. Anxious for updates and thanks for encouragement. I pass news on to hubby

    • Hi Juanita. There actually is no correct dosage. Each person has to figure out what works best for them. I would suggest starting with a dosage of 6 to 10 parts THC and 6 to 10 parts CBD.

      I’m still undecided. The cannabis oil has been bringing up a lot of emotional stuff, especially fear, which is good, but it hasn’t helped with any of the symptoms I experience.

Leave a Reply

