Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #21 … Get out of fight-or-flight!

wildebeestI have long held that view that I’m not suffering from parkinson’s disease. Rather, I am experiencing a health condition characterized by certain symptoms. What is more, I don’t believe that I have to cure the condition. Instead, in order to recover my health I need to return my body to homeostasis.

Recently, on my daily walk, it occurred to me that the reason I was having difficulty walking normally [I was shuffle walking] wasn’t because I was experiencing parkinson’s disease. It wasn’t even because my body is out of homeostasis. It is much simpler than that. It was because my body was in a state of fight-or-flight. The reason it was in this state is because I had a thought that triggered unresolved emotional pain and unconscious detrimental beliefs that put my mind in a state of fear and my body in a state of fight-or-flight, making it difficult for me to walk normally.

This was an important insight. I knew my condition was caused by years of living in chronic fear [stress]… years of being predominantly in the fight-or-flight state… but what I had overlooked is that as a result of the neurotransmitter-hormone imbalance [breakdown] caused by this condition, I am now permanently in the fight-or-flight mode.

So I need to [re]teach myself how to get out of this state.

In order to do that I/we can begin by looking at nature!

Can you imagine what it would be like for animals if they approached life the same way as humans? Consider Willie the wildebeest crossing the Serengeti Plain. “Oh my God! I can’t believe we’re doing that migration again this year! Remember last year? I got chased by those lions and they almost caught me! Lucky for me they caught Henry instead! It was horrible what they did to him! I feel so guilty! Then I almost got eaten by those crocodiles while crossing the creek! Do you think they’ll be there waiting for us? This is awful!”

Animals would never survive with this outlook! So they have a mechanism for letting go of fear and stress. First, they move on very quickly. After the danger has passed, they go back to what they were doing… usually eating. Second, they have a physical adrenaline release. Birds vigorously flap their wings. Four legged animals shake vigorously after a stressful situation.

We can employ similar techniques. There specific qigong exercises designed to release stress:

  1. Bounce up and down while vigorously shaking your hands.
  2. Slowly swing your hands up in the air, palms facing down, inhaling slowly. Then swing your arms down as fast as you can while forcefully exhaling [or yelling HALLELUJAH!].

We can also do the following:

  • Bring your attention into the present moment by focusing on your breath or looking around and observing things
  • Exercise
  • Laugh/Sing/Dance
  • Spiritual practice

This chronic fight/flight perspective re-enforces the importance of stress minimization as the key component of the recovery process. It stresses [pun intended] the need to release the stress [fear] hormones [adrenaline and cortisol] from our bodies, as part of our daily routine. We also need to adopt stress-free lifestyles… that’s why I retired and moved to Manitoulin Island… and put our minds in a tranquil-joyful state in order to stimulate the production of the feel-good neurotransmitters [dopamine, serotonin and GABA].

Now, about those crocodiles!!!

8 comments on “Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #21 … Get out of fight-or-flight!

  1. Just happen to stubble on your blog! I am also on that natural healing journey myself (not from parkinsons but from other ailments ) and your blog is very inspirational!!

  2. Hi Fred,

    Do you happen to know what the “Parkinson’s effect” is ? Suppose a group is gathered to build a nuclear plant. More people and more time will pass discussing the way the bike’s parking will be build, it’s equipment, shape and color etc. than over the nuclear core.
    The more important a topic is, the less we discuss about it.

    Yes, It’s a lot about stress.

  3. Any negative thought or feeling desynchronizes the body’s acupuncture energy system, which is more sensitive than the central nervous system and much faster than the autonomic sympathetic nervous system.
    The body’s acupuncture energy system, through the twelve major meridians of the body, instantly responds to everything that is negative. Causing muscle weakness, dilation of the pupils and other symptoms. Muscular weakness and dilation of the pupil represent the desynchronization of the cerebral hemispheres and an instantaneous weakening of the energy field of the body. It also indicates something that is harmful to life

  4. Are you getting your dopamine naturally from the foods that you eat ?

    How do you handle lower back stiffness? And neck? Can proper exercise correct?

Leave a Reply

