Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #18 … Dissolving Anxiety!

calmnessFor many people experiencing the neurological condition known as Parkinson’s disease, anxiety is one of the more common and challenging symptoms.

Anxiety is a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome. It is an expression of fear, created by a thought. Given the challenges of the symptoms and given what the future holds for those who consider their condition to be incurable, it is no doubt that anxiety is so common.

Anxiety keeps the body in a state of stress [fight or flight] which intensifies symptoms and keeps us out of homeostasis, so it is essential to minimize it.

I consider myself very fortunate because I experience very little anxiety for a number of reasons. First, I believe my condition is curable, which keeps me in a very positive frame of mind because I know in my heart it is true.  What I am experiencing is temporary! Second, I focus my thoughts and energy [most of the time] on doing the things I need to do in order to recover my health. I spend a lot of time immersed in spiritual practice, silent solitude, nature, exercise, laughter and music. I also spend a lot of time doing what I love… writing!

In those moments when I do feel anxiety [usually when I’m thinking about my symptoms], there are a number of things I do to overcome it.

  • I remind myself that it’s just a feeling, created by a thought, just like happiness. And it will pass.
  • I focus on my breath. This relaxes me and brings my attention into the present moment.
  • I go outside for a walk
  • I take Bach Flower Essence Rescue Remedy
  • I watch something funny and laugh
  • I sing
  • I pray

The most effective prayer I use is a spiritual version of the 23rd psalm which I created. It goes like this:

The lord is my shepherd, I shall not want
Spirit makes me lie down in green pastures
And leads me beside still waters
Spirit restores my soul and leads me down paths of spiritual awakening for my highest good
Spirit helps me to feel good about myself
Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of impermanence, I shall fear no darkness, for you are with me
Your love and compassion comfort me
You teach me to be forgiving towards those who trigger me
You help me to live in the present moment
My life is filled with abundance
Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the rest of my days
I will dwell in spiritual consciousness forever

I just keep repeating this until I feel better… and it works!

If I’m feeling anxious about a specific symptom, for example, tightness in my throat, I will repeat my healing mantra, which goes like this:

Thank you Spirit for severing and dissolving the synapses and neural pathways, neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and my being, all the fear and anger and detrimental thoughts and beliefs, and all of the shame, grief, guilt, bitterness and unresolved emotional energy that are at the root of the tightness and tension I’m feeling in my throat.

Again, I keep repeating this until I feel better.

Wishing you a tranquil day!

4 comments on “Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #18 … Dissolving Anxiety!

  1. Great healing energy expressed in this post, Fred. You’re a source of healing for yourself and your readers! A worthy mentor! I share your perspective this neurological condition is temporary. In Bianca Molle’s book describing her healing she recounts a moment on her journey when she knew “the Parkinson’s had run its course”. Isn’t that a beautiful moment? I meditate on experiencing such a moment myself.

Leave a Reply

