Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #14 … The Importance of Laughter!

laughterOne of the most important elements of my recovery program has to do with laughter! Laughter counters stress and minimizing stress is absolutely critical to recovering from any neurological condition, particularly parkinson’s, because it is a condition that is caused by stress, but also creates stress.

So it is a challenge! But it is essential! Laughter causes the release of feel good neurotransmitters such as dopamine and serotonin which helps to counter the stress hormones, like adrenaline and cortisol. With enough laughter, and enough stress minimization, I believe the body will begin to heal itself by returning to homeostasis.

My day is filled with laughter breaks, mostly from watching Youtube videos. My favorites include:

In those moments when I’m feeling stressed, when my mind is in a state of fear, I turn my focus to laughter. This may include forcing myself to belly laugh, much like they do in laughter yoga.

I also yell, HALLELUJAH, a lot! It is a great stress reliever and it also helps bring my attention into the present moment.

Say, did you hear the one about …

Heh heh!

17 comments on “Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #14 … The Importance of Laughter!

  1. I love to laugh …..I’m addicted to’English Comedy’ shows. Have you seen ‘One Foot in the Grave?’ On TV….that’s sure to get you laughing. Have a great day, Fred, Giggle, Giggle …😊

  2. Wow, thank you. Past days have been filled with some high stressors and this was the perfect medicine. I found myself smiling as I read your words. They are a reminder to find joy and laughter in our journey. What you write is not just for sufferers of Parkinson’s but for all. I subscribed to The Rick Mercer Report and I love Carpool Karaoke. Laughter is good for the soul.

  3. hi Fred thank you for this post is wonderful…………i share this is aboout natural neuroprotector phttps://livebetterparkinsons.com/finally-parkinson-disease-spanish-research-team-found-two-major-keys-of-the-neuroprotection-and-natural-increase-of-dopamine/

Leave a Reply

