Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #13 … The Benefits of Karate Strikes!

karate kicksI took up martial arts in 1989 after being inspired by a motivational speaker at a company conference. In 1996, after receiving my black belt, I opened my own karate club along with two partners. In 2007, I started teaching on my own. Martial arts has been a big part of my life for the past 28 years. and now that I am retired, I still practice every day.

Practicing techniques, particularly strikes and kicks, helps me in four ways. First, it is great exercise, an important part of my exercise program. Second, it helps me when I am struggling to perform a task, for example, when I’m cutting an avocado in half. I stop for a moment, throw a couple of karate strikes as fast as I can, while yelling, after which, I find it much easier to complete the task. Third, being able to perform karate techniques at full speed gives me confidence that I can recover my health; if I can perform karate techniques normally, it tells me I can overcome slowness of movement, loss of balance, freezing and all the others symptoms I experience. Four, it has slowed the progress of the condition.

If you’re not sure what to do, just throw two boxing punches as fast as you can while yelling, ONE-TWO!

I believe very strongly that training in martial arts is one of the reasons I’ve been able to effectively manage my condition without medication.

Wishing you a joyful day!

2 comments on “Healing Parkinson’s Disease Naturally – Recovery Inspiration #13 … The Benefits of Karate Strikes!

  1. I love what you share. It is about perseverance, hope, courage, and great faith in the power we hold within. I truly believe our bodies can heal themselves. I printed your Healing Protocol for my friend’s husband as they work with natural healing. He has been a logger all of his life and he is still logging. He is 82 years old. I think he has that inner fortitude like you. Your blog is not only good for healing the body it is healing for the soul, too. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

