My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 253 … Acceptance versus Anger!

purpose - life“Damn it!” I snapped.

“What’s the matter?” my concerned friend asked.

“I lost my balance and almost fell again!”

“Are you okay?”

“Yes, I’m fine! I’m just angry!”

“You know, I can understand why you don’t want to have this neurological condition and I can understand why you don’t want to experience loss of balance, but I don’t understand why it makes you so angry.”

“Because when I lose my balance like that, it scares me!”

“Again, I can understand why it scares you, but why does it make you so angry?”

“That’s a good question! I never really thought about it before. I guess it makes me angry because I feel so powerless… helpless!”

“And why does feeling helpless make you feel so angry?”

I had to think about that one for the second. “I guess because I’d rather feel angry than helpless! Feeling angry feels better!”

“I can understand that, too, but anger works against you. It works against your efforts to recover your health. Remember Deepak Chopra said that anger is an inflammatory emotion. Parkinson’s is an inflammatory condition, so every time you get angry you are feeding it!”

You’re absolutely right!” I agreed. “I never thought about it like that before! I’m really going to do my best to be more patient and have more of a sense of humor about my condition in order to feed my recovery… and my spirit!”

“That’s great!” he praised. “But there’s one more thing going on here.”

“What’s that?” I inquired, rather puzzled.

“It seems to me you’re not practicing what you learned from Eckhart Tolle as relates to living in the present moment and accepting the present circumstances.”

“You’re right,” I agreed. “I want so badly to be healthy, and I’m focusing all of my attention on not wanting to have a loss of balance, immobility, slowness of movement or trembling.”

“That’s right! You don’t need to think about that stuff! God knows you want to be healthy! God knows you don’t want to have any of those symptoms!”

“Yes! I just need to place my attention in the present moment, accept my condition and focus on the things I need to do to recover, like exercising, stretching, laughing, being grateful, eating healthy foods, meditating and spending time in nature!”

“You got it!”

“Awesome!”

Have an awesomely accepting day!

3 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 253 … Acceptance versus Anger!

Leave a Reply

