My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 244 … Chiropractic treatment for TMJ!

tmjToday I went to see a chiropractor for the first time in 30 years. I made the appointment because my jaw is out of joint [commonly referred to as temporomandibular joint or TMJ] and my spine is curved [commonly referred to as scoliosis].

I have read that TMJ is connected to parkinson’s, but quite frankly, I didn’t understand the connection, other than the root cause of each condition [fear and head trauma] is similar.

The chiropractor told me that curvature of the spine impairs the flow of messages from the brain to the muscles, and therefore, exacerbates the symptoms of neurological conditions. As for my jaw being out of alignment, this apparently is an indicator of a blockage in the neck, which also impairs the flow of messages from brain to muscle.

After the treatment, my jaw was considerably better. I was able to open and close it more freely. What was even more remarkable, is that during the consultation and assessment, I was trembling more than usual [as I usually do in these situations], but during the treatment, my muscles stopped trembling completely!

At one point during the treatment, while I was lying on the table, the chiropractor asked me to roll my shoulders up and back, but I couldn’t do it. After she gave me an adjustment, I was able to roll them quite easily. This blew me away!

The chiropractor gave me a few exercises to practice every day, including shrugging the shoulders, rolling the shoulders, turning my head from side to side and up and down and opening and closing my jaw. She also urged me to practice proper posture, particularly when I’m sitting.

My next appointment is in two days and I will keep you apprised of my progress. In the meantime, it’s a big thumbs up!

Have an awesomely adjusted day!

PS … I discovered recently that when I put my hands on a tree, I stop trembling. Awesome!

7 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 244 … Chiropractic treatment for TMJ!

  1. Hi Fred, Ive also discovered the link between a neck which has lost its natural curve, and neurological problems. Google John Bergman , (he’s a chiropractor in California) he has dozens of teaching clips on youtube, and has successfully treated PD patients. I am now using a traction device, which he describes, to restore the lost curve in my neck. I also had an out of allignment jaw, which is now completely normal, thanks to being prayed for, 2 years ago .
    More pieces of the puzzle. . . .

    • Hi Rebecca
      I was seen by Dr Bergman also but I haven’t able to continue my adjustments due to distance and I’m kind of worry about the ‘cracking’ specially the neck. Were your PD symptoms got addressed?
      Thank you

  2. Hi Fred – glad to hear this is working for you. Please let us know how it goes the next time you have a treatment.
    Blessings and thank you for your writing
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

