My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 241 … Forrest Gump and the fear of death!

forrest gumpLife is like a box of chocolates! You never know what you’re going to get! — Forrest Gump 

The other night I found myself scrolling through Netflix looking for new movie to watch. I couldn’t find one, so I decided to watch Forrest Gump. I’ve seen it four or five times already, and even though it has some sad parts, I generally find it an uplifting movie.

The reason I needed to watch this classic became apparent in the second half of the movie. It was the scene in which Forrest goes home to visit his dying mother, played by Sally Field. There she was, lying in her deathbed, grinning from ear-to-ear, telling Forrest not to be afraid of death because it is a part of life.

The notion of accepting death as a normal part of life never resonated with me like it did in that moment. You see, I’ve always been afraid of death. I don’t know why. I guess somewhere along the line I was taught to fear it. But being afraid of something that is inevitable is rather silly, isn’t it? Perhaps it is not knowing the timing of my death or the manner of my passing that scares me. Or perhaps it is the fear that I won’t be ready for it when it comes. Whatever the reason, it is something that I dearly want to dissolve. Seeing Sally Field with that great big grin telling her son not to be afraid of something that is so natural really touched me. It told me that it is possible to remain joyful in any situation, pleasant or unpleasant, because it is really just a part of life. Nothing more!

So, now I need to train myself to live fearlessly, as if I was a child starting all over again. Truly  knowing that death is a natural part of life is a great place to start!

Life is like a box of chocolates! Full of mystery to be enjoyed!

Have an awesomely gumpy day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 241 … Forrest Gump and the fear of death!

  1. I was just thinking the other day hoe kids don’t need to be taught some things… like how to be natural and joyful and playful. My husband is a school administrator so I am always thinking of how we try to teach what doesn’t need to be taught at all sometimes. I love this post.

Leave a Reply

