My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 239 … My Walking Challenge … Update!

fluid motionMy, how quickly my walking has improved!

Last week, I told you about the challenges I was experiencing, walking. I have been walking on a gravel road and had gotten to the point where I was shuffle-walking pretty badly, particularly when I tried multitasking while walking [thinking about stuff, practicing qigong or bostaff techniques, or just observing my surroundings]. I was starting to not enjoy walking!

What a difference this week! The last four mornings, I have walked almost normally almost the entire walk! This is awesome! I still scuff my feet a bit, but at least I’m not shuffle-walking.

I attribute my success to four things. First, as I mentioned in my previous blog, I began stopping and resetting my stride every time I found myself shuffle-walking. Each time I stopped, I would go through the same routine: relax my arms and jaw, tell myself to take a big step, then lunge forward with a long stride while counting. Second, I started doing the same resetting my stride routine inside the house. Third, I started throwing my hands up in the air, shooting out my fingers and yelling, hallelujah, frequently during my walks. This allowed me to unclench my hands without causing me to lose my gait. Fourth, I also started walking with my hands on my hips, periodically throughout my walk, much like your five year old daughter would put her hands on her hips, acting all indignant, when you told her to do something she didn’t want to do.

I’m amazed at how quickly my gait improved! It has made walking enjoyable again! I figure if I can take 1 or 2 or 10 normal steps, then its possible to make every step a normal one! It’s just a matter of [re]training the body.

I have also started applying the same ‘resetting’ approach to overcoming the balance issues I’ve been experiencing.

Have an awesomely fluid day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 239 … My Walking Challenge … Update!

  1. hello fred any suggestions for leg weakness, I also walk daily however the muscles become inflamed and become more rigid and weak while I walk

    • I’m sorry to hear that Jimmy. Have you tried leg strengthening exercises, similar to the ones I mentioned in the blog I just posted about improving balance? Also, do you stretch? Are you getting lots of fat in your diet?

  2. YES frred iam doing strenght excercise and stretch excercise……..and vegetarian diet, maybe i need more fats. thank you fred

Leave a Reply

