My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 237 … Meditation: Parkinson’s Success Story … Quiet the Mind!

calmnessThank you to blog reader Jimmy for posting two articles that remind us of the importance of quieting the mind as an essential component of recovering our health.

The first article, published in the Journal of Complementary Integrated Medicine,  May, 2016, is about a 78 year old American man who fully recovered from the neurological condition [PD] he was experiencing through a daily meditation practice. The doctors responsible for his care could sight no other factors, including medication, for his recovery.

The second article was published in the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry, October, 2013, about a study that was conducted in London, England that concluded that prolonged, chronic stress can trigger parkinson’s disease. The article, which can be read in its entirety, asks [and answers] the question, can prolonged emotional stress cause PD?

Based on my own experience with stress, there’s no doubt that an overactive, stressed, fearful mind is at the root of my neurological condition. There is also no doubt that a protocol which includes quieting the mind, through meditation, spending time in silent solitude and continually practicing living in the present moment is part of a successful recovery program.

Have an awesomely quiet day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 237 … Meditation: Parkinson’s Success Story … Quiet the Mind!

  1. HI Fred, I definitely know that stress caused my Parkinsons and stress exacerbates it. There are a lot of people who concur with this idea. I just read a book called GODBBYE PARKINSONS HELLO LIFE which I recommend. Some other interesting books, programs or people to look into are Ashok Guptas program for chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia and retraining the amygdala. Henry Wrights book A MORE EXCELLENT WAY and his program in Georgia. Also, Annie Hopper’s program for retraining the amygdala. These are just a few of the programs/books available that understand that stress can kick off this disease process.
    I am working on retraining my amygdala!
    Blessings and thank you for your posts
    Barbara

  2. I absolutely believe that chronic stress and a defensive fear inclined orientation to my social world brought me to the PD condition. Recently I have found the importance of walking in nature and instead of monitoring my body paying loving attention to the trees and seeing everything as dynamic energy to be experienced as participatory. To deeply experience the energetic healing drape of nature. To let it influence every cell. Quietly making intuitive requests encouraging nature to fully join me and nourish me and create balance. As for my neuronal sap to flow in a magnificent pure white light. Increasingly living whole and leaving the disease state behind I believe is an important part of being well.

Leave a Reply

