My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 233 … Three Valuable Insights!

messiahMy journey with a neurological condition has been a tremendous learning experience! It has taught me so much, not just about recovering my health, but also about myself, life and spirituality! I can safely say that I am a far better person and far more knowledgeable than I would be otherwise! Despite my daily challenges I feel immeasurably enriched and very optimistic about my future!

Among other things, this trek has brought me face to face with many unconscious detrimental beliefs that were affecting, not just my health, but all aspects of my life. And it has guided me to a truly blessed spiritual awakening! I’ve gained so much that it is impossible to feel like a victim even when I’m stumbling around the house trying desperately to keep my balance [which happens frequently].

Yes, I’ve learned a lot and perhaps the three most valuable insights I have gained have to do with:

  1. Living fearlessly
  2. Expressing gratitude
  3. Being forgiving

Dissolving fear:

I lived most of my life in ignorance of the fear that was at the root of much of my inappropriate behavior and health issues.  I just thought that people and situations scared me. I didn’t realize that I was living in perpetual fear. Fear that I wasn’t lovable, deserving, good enough or empowered. Then two years ago I had a series of panic attacks, which changed my understanding, not just of what was at the root of my neurological condition, but also how it was influencing my life.

Now I am focusing on dissolving fear in order to live fearlessly. And it is a process, which I have covered often and will be writing about in my next post.

Expressing gratitude:

Shawn Achor, author of The Happiness Advantage, and Eckhart Tolle, spiritual teacher and author of The Power of Now and A New Earth, say that gratitude is one of the keys to being happy. And happiness is essential to my recovery because it is impossible to feel fear when I’m feeling happy. It also causes my brain to produce dopamine and serotonin the neurotransmitters that are necessary to eliminate my symptoms. So expressing gratitude is like taking medicine … happiness medicine!

This experience has taught me that true gratitude isn’t just words. It is a state of being. It is feeling genuinely grateful for everything in my life rather than focusing on what I don’t have.

Being forgiving:

Forgiveness is freedom from suffering. When you forgive, you let go of anger, bitterness, resentment and hatred, so it is a way of letting go of emotional pain.

And this experience has taught me that forgiveness is easy when you remember two things. First, that people mistreat others because they are not spiritually conscious and because they don’t feel good about themselves. Second, everyone is doing the best they can with what they’ve learned. If someone grows up being mistreated, then that is what they give to the world.

And so, out of this challenging neurological experience arises three insights that could be better described as gifts: living fearlessly, being grateful and being forgiving.

Although there are still moments of frustration and anger, these moments are fewer and further between. They are also less intense because I experience them from a state of conscious awareness. When I feel frustrated or angry, I know that it is because something has triggered anger that I’m already holding onto. I’m stuck in ego and my pain body has been activated. So I take a deep breath, look up, smile and yell, HALLELUJAH!

Have an awesomely insightful day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 233 … Three Valuable Insights!

  1. I am so touched by the heart and soul of your words. They are healing not just someone with Parkinson’s but anyone on this earth walk. Thank you for the courage to share your truth.

  2. I totally agree, I’ve been on this road for many years, firstly being diagnosed with Charcot Marie tooth disease & chronic pain then later with Parkinson’s. I believe it has definitely opened my eyes to what’s important and what is not. Life is much to short to be miserable. I find something to smile about every day. I really enjoyed reading your blog. Hope you don’t mind me commenting. Hope you have a good day…

Leave a Reply

