My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 232 … A car ride messes me up!

prov bayYesterday, my neighbor Saul took me for a ride around the island. I had met him a month previous and had run into him earlier that morning while out walking. During our conversation, I mentioned that I had never been to Providence Bay, so he dropped by to take me there.

Providence Bay is a quaint little village on the south side of Manitoulin Island, known primarily for serving tourists in the summer. We visited Saul’s favorite coffee shop, which also happens to include a gift shop, clothing shop and massage clinic. It was quite nice! Then we visited the waterfront and a fish and chip shop, which my new friend highly recommended, before heading eastward for more sightseeing.

We drove through three other villages where my tour guide gave me the lowdown on the best eateries, coffee shops and services. All told, the trip took about 3 hours and by the time we get back, I was a mess. I balance was way off and I was experiencing more pronounced freezing and shuffle walking. It was a real challenge just walking home.

A year ago, I noticed that driving was really affecting me. This I can understand; the stress of being behind the wheel, trying to drive straight and keep the car on the road. It really affects me. What I don’t understand, is why being a passenger has the same affect, nor do I know how to get over it [I’m still feeling it today] other than give it time.

If anybody has had a similar experience and has figured out how to deal with it, I would love to hear from you. In the meantime, I’m going to do some qigong and karate exercises. At least I feel better while I’m doing them.

Have an awesomely enjoyable day!

20 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 232 … A car ride messes me up!

  1. My guess is it reminded your brain of situations where it was using much adrenalin. It’s a reflex. And competition of adrenalin vs dopamine may be the core mechanism behind our condition. A silent flow of adrenalin doesn’t help.

    Just my 2 cts…

    Have a nice day too.

  2. fred besides the chemistry of the body, parkinson, is an electrical problem and the body is not generating enough electric impulse to move muscles, that occurs when too much activity.
    i am happy you are good again

Leave a Reply

