My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 231 … Minimizing Freezing!

movementOne of the more challenging aspects of my experience with a neurological condition is freezing. Freezing happens when I am unable to move my feet, usually from a standing position. It typically occurs at the most inopportune time, like when I’m losing my balance. I have hurtled headlong into more than one wall because of it.

A few months ago I wrote a post about a little technique I discovered that helps me overcome this troublesome condition … bending my knees. Before moving, I quickly bend my knees, then take a step.

I recently discovered another technique that is quite helpful … staggering my feet [no pun intended!]. I unearthed it while carting wheelbarrow loads of gravel. I figured out that as I was about to begin moving with the wheelbarrow, when my feet were side by side, I quite often experienced freezing. But when my feet were staggered, particularly when my left foot was ahead of my right foot, I moved normally. I tried it out in different situations and the results were consistent.

My challenge, is remembering to do these techniques when my mind is preoccupied with a task. As you may know, multitasking doesn’t come easy and I’m more prone to freezing when I’m doing something.

I urge you to check out this video that blog reader Jimmy brought to my attention. It has a lot of great exercises to keep the body limber, improve balance and minimize freezing. One particular exercise I like is, before moving, consciously relax the jaw, say out loud, “take a big step,” then count each step in a loud voice. It’s a terrific technique!

I hope you find these exercises and routines helpful.

Have an awesomely fluid day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 231 … Minimizing Freezing!

  1. Your encouragement, understanding, and helpful techniques must be of great value to your readers with this condition. Thanks for being you and daring to share this journey from all sides. You may never know the long-term impact you’ve had on the world, but you are making a difference. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

