My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 221 … Empowerment!

empowermentOne of the main challenges I’m being given the opportunity to overcome is the feeling of powerlessness. That is to say, this neurological condition I am experiencing is allowing me to dissolve the belief that I’m a powerless victim.

The feeling of powerlessness has been a predominant theme throughout my life. I grew up in a home with a very domineering father, who quite frankly, I was very scared of. If I spoke out of turn or misbehaved I was sure to be punished, quite often with a spanking. If I expressed an opinion that was contrary to my father’s, I was sure to be yelled at. I also had to contend with a neighborhood bully for six years.

Many times in my life I’ve felt trapped, helplessly unable to extricate myself from a situation.

Now I’m experiencing a neurological condition that is impairing my ability to live a normal life. It is affecting my ability to perform tasks, stand normally, walk normally, write normally and so on.

Whenever I get frustrated or angry, particularly when I’m having difficulty performing a task, when I examine the deeper root cause, it is usually because it is making me feel powerless.

The truth is, we are never a powerless victim. As someone once said, ‘you can control my body but you can’t control my mind.’ You can physically punish me, you can lock me up, you can give me a health condition that robs me of abilities, but you can’t control my thoughts and you certainly can’t control my attitude! I can choose to live in ego or I can choose to live in spiritual consciousness. I can choose to accept a situation. I can choose to trust and I can choose to have faith.

I can also choose to believe that I will recover my health. I can choose to be optimistic. I can also choose to be grateful for everything I have and I can choose to forgive myself for the things I’ve done and I can choose to forgive others for what they’ve done to me, because I know that forgiveness is freedom from suffering.

I can also remind myself that on a soul level, I chose this journey. I wanted to experience powerlessness in order to understand empowerment. I can also choose to remember that [on a soul level] my father and all the others who mistreated me did so to help me learn this lesson.

Yes indeed! I have a choice and as long as this is the case, I’m empowered!

I believe that life has a purpose and all of our experiences are meant to serve a purpose. This neurological condition I’m experiencing [parkinson’s] is meant to teach me about empowerment and as such, it is my ally. My friend!

Have an awesomely empowered day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 221 … Empowerment!

  1. When I speak to you and hear your voice Fred, I hear determination and strength…You my friend are one if not the strongest most determined person I have ever known. You are one tough cookie!!

  2. I love this! Thank you so much for sharing and I can not wait to read more of your previous blogs and more to come in the future!

  3. I am one year diagnosed with PD and up until 3 weeks ago was not using any medication. My neurologist insisted on my using Azilect. Up until that point I have been following a similar treatment protocol to yours of diet, exercise and handfuls of various supplements. I would be interested in maintaining an email conversation with you. I set up this email account for that purpose if you are so inclined. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

