My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 220 … Keep the core strong!

stomach crunchesIn the four months leading up to the end of April, with everything going on in my life, I did much less exercising, particularly push-ups, stomach crunches and wall sits. The result has been a significant deterioration in my abdominal muscles, to the point where they are folding up underneath my rib cage. I have also been experiencing lower back pain, particularly when performing tasks.

Keeping my core muscles strong is important for a number of reasons: getting in and out of bed, moving around in bed, standing up and sitting down, walking and sitting with erect posture and avoiding back pain.

Now that I am retired and have more time on my hands I can get back to it, which means, daily push-ups, stomach crunches and wall sits. My ideal is to do three sets of each every day. I do 15 push-ups per set, 50 stomach crunches per set and I do each wall sit for at least 1 minute.

I find that isometric exercises are also quite helpful: I stand in a horse stance, while tensing every muscle in my body, with particular emphasis on my abdominals, while pushing outwards as if I’m pushing a wall.

Please let me know if you need any help setting up a routine for yourself.

Otherwise, have an awesomely strong day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 220 … Keep the core strong!

  1. Hey Fred, thanks for the input on core. Since the hunch back posturing is so common with PD, I thought I would share what I’ve found—-the writer claims + results in 1 month! This takes 3 minutes 2x/day—–
    Put the back of your head against the wall with chin tucked under, arms by your side, and you may put a pillow behind your back. With hands down, flap your “wings” at a 45 degree angle x10. Then cover ears with your palms x10. Then pretend you’re climbing a rope ladder (don’t look up) x3.
    I’ll let you know how its working. So sorry to hear of your hard times, it sounds like things are lighting up a bit. Happy retirement!

    • Thank you for this Susanne. I tried it and I can see how it works and how it can be effective. It’s not easy keeping my head against the wall while doing the exercises. I’m going to give it a go. My biggest challenge is sitting with good posture while I’m at the computer. Wishing you many blessings on your day! Fred

  2. Just wondering if you are familiar with QRA testing and Dr. Robert Marshall. Thepremiercenter.net. My husband is using his teachings for his early stages of PD like symptoms. Whole different ideas on fats, you might want to read and consider if it would be a road to try.
    Lori

  3. Thanks for your motivation. A family member has Parkinson and I always update him after I read all your inspiring articles. I look forward to hearing from you each week. Take care. Juanita

Leave a Reply

