My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 213 … Bicycling and Walking Poles!

cyclingBy now, you’ve probably seen the ABC News piece on how cycling can help people with parkinson’s. It is very encouraging and inspiring! Experts don’t seem to know why people who have such a difficult time walking can easily ride a bike. I think it’s all about muscle memory and doing something that puts you in a state of joy! Think about when we were  kids and the exhilaration we felt while riding a bicycle! It can’t help but be a good thing!

I’ve posted many blogs on the benefits of various exercises and exercise routines in helping people with neurological conditions, including qigong, martial arts, boxing, dance, ballet, etc. There’s no doubt that joyful exercise can help us recover our health! It keeps us in the moment and takes us out of the state of fear, while stimulating the release of dopamine and serotonin!

One of the exercises I enjoy most is walking. I discovered over a year ago that counting my steps helps to offset shuffle walking. This past week, I discovered that using walking poles has the same effect. Using the poles, I walk almost normally and it feels awesome!

In addition to my daily walks, I’m continually doing knee raises, karate kicks and strikes, jumping up in the air and clapping my hands, while yelling hallelujah and doing other such activities. While doing these exercises, I can literally feel the fear and tension leaving my body!

Joyful exercise! You can’t beat it!

Have an awesomely exhilarating day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 213 … Bicycling and Walking Poles!

  1. Thanks for the LIKE, Fred. I also concur on the counting steps bit. To this day, it helps me mitigate my limp when I’m having a particularly bad weather day. Bringing my gait up to a conscious level really does seem to help me manage for a good level of function undetectable to those who don’t know. Interesting stuff, as ever.
    Until then,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

