My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 211 … Beware L-dopa and Worldwide Nutrition Supplements!

l dopaThis past November, based on a recommendation from a blog reader, I ordered a bottle of L dopa [mucana puriens] from Worldwide Nutrition Supplements, a company based in Tuckahoe, New York, USA. The blog reader I spoke to said that he had been using the product for six months and he was feeling better, experiencing less trembling. He told me what website he had ordered it from, so I went online and placed an order.

I tried the product twice, and both times, I felt very jittery, out of sorts and I got a stomach ache. It definitely didn’t help me, and as I’ve learned since, this is quite common.

What really made the experience an unpleasant one, is that I ordered one bottle from the company and received an e-mail confirming my purchase of one unit [$46.00 American, including shipping]. But when I received my order, the package contained three bottles and when I checked my credit card statement, they had charged me a total $192 Canadian.

I called the company and their representative, Michael, informed me their company policy was a minimum of three units on international orders. I explained to him that I had only ordered one bottle and had received an e-mail confirming my purchase. I also explained that I would never have ordered the product had I known I had to purchase three bottles. I asked for a reimbursement. He explained that he could not reimburse me as this was company policy. He asked me to try the product and call him back, which I did, and he still refused to reimburse me. He said that he could not reimburse me unless I returned the two unused bottles, which I did. I followed up several times by E mail and phone to find out if they had received the package, but they said that they had not. They did not respond to my last e-mail.

Please be aware that if you are ordering supplements from this company from outside of the USA there is a minimum of three units per order, even though there is no indication of this anywhere in the order process. Needless to say, I will not be dealing with them ever again, except that I will be taking action by contacting the FDA or whatever other body I need to in order to pursue a reimbursement.

This experience is a good example of why I take extreme caution when ordering anything online, especially from outside of Canada. What makes this particularly disconcerting is that this company is in the business of supplying nutritional products to people who are in the midst of a health crisis. Quite frankly, I don’t know how they sleep at night.

Have an awesomely honest day!

12 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 211 … Beware L-dopa and Worldwide Nutrition Supplements!

  1. Hi Fred, did you pay by credit card? If you did, call your credit card company and cancel the charge.
    Also, taking this supplement is the same as taking sinnemet without the cardidopa. The cardidopa is given to stop the reactions to the levodopa. I tried it and it made me sick.
    I hope you get your money back!
    Barbara

  2. Oh dear, sorry to hear that, yes if you paid by creditcard you could get the money back from them, then the company will talk to you. Always hard when you order on line. Good luck with it!

  3. Hi Fred,
    I wanted to ask you this for some time what your opinion is about Mucuna P as it is a natural source of L dopa. Was this your one experience with the stuff or did you try it earlier on? Of course there are several brands, containing varying percentages of L dopa per gram of product, and some may contain contaminations as well… I tried Mucuna P from an Ayurvedic product producer, but I never could tell for shure if it did anything for me. As it is expensive, I stopped taking it. Recently I read on a USA Parkinson forum about a person who is on Sinemet for many years using Mucuna P somedays in stead of Sinemet. This person uses DopaTroic powder from Biotics Research. So I purchased this stuff and tried it, taking one coffee spoon a day. Doesn’t give me jitters or anything but it seems to dampen the tremors a bit, and walking gets a bit easier also. Perhaps too soon to tell as symptoms always fluctuate a bit, but its also to soon to abandon it.

    • Hello Hans! My apologies for not responding to you sooner. Yes, this is the only time I’ve tried L dopa. It had a very adverse affect on me and at the price, I will not be trying it again. Please let us know how you’re doing with the product you are trying now. Cheers!
      Fred

  4. Fred, I just caught an ABC news report from awhile back that focused on how peddling can help those with this. In fact some can easily ride a bike when they can barely walk. And likewise, some could dance though walking was severely impaired. Have you experimented with this?

Leave a Reply

