My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 208 … Neutralizing the Detrimental Affect of Stress!

doveIn my last post, I wrote about the severe symptoms I experienced after attending my aunt’s celebration of life ceremony. For three days after the ceremony, my balance was way off and I experienced more intense freezing. In trying to understand what was going on, I realized that I had triggered unresolved grief and guilt, among other emotions. To put it in Eckhart Tolle’s terms, I had triggered the ‘pain body.’  It was very intense and I was quite concerned for my well being. I was also concerned about another celebration of life that I was planning to attend this past weekend for longtime family friend, a man I had called Uncle Paul all my life.

Due in part to this awareness about triggering the pain body I felt much better after Paul’s ceremony and I still felt okay after visiting my dad yesterday. He has been in the hospital the past two months experiencing dementia and his health has deteriorated substantially since my last visit four weeks ago.

Tolle claims that we all have a pain body and we activate it through present experiences and thoughts [stress]. He contends that the best way to dissolve it is to simply observe it objectively, without judging it or attaching to it. By not falling victim to it, we weaken its energy field and eventually, it dissolves. Spiritual catalyst, Teal Swan, recommends a similar approach. She suggests, that rather than running away from the feelings, we turn around and walk right back into them. Not in a defiant sort of way, but rather with an attitude of acceptance. Further, Swan suggests that we bring our attention to what we want [tranquility and happiness] rather than what we’re trying to avoid [fear, anger, guilt and grief].

I was also reminded during this process of how important it is to focus on creating joy in the present moment [in each and every present moment], and of equal importance, to dream big. To thank God for helping me to recover my health in order for me become well known so that I can help others recover theirs. In other words, focus my attention on the positive [on what I want] rather than the turmoil I’m in the midst of.

The gist of all this is that I’m feeling much better than I was last week at this time, mentally, emotionally and physically.

My journey to recover my health is been quite an adventure! I don’t know how long it is going to last, but I do know I’m going to do my best to enjoy it, because it is so incredibly fascinating!

Have an awesomely fascinating day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 208 … Neutralizing the Detrimental Affect of Stress!

  1. Hi Fred, thanks for sharing your take on these difficult
    challenges you faced. Would you say that becoming
    aware of blockage, shining a light on it and trying to make
    some sense of it was the catalyst that relived the symptoms?
    Becoming aware of the issue is the first step then moving past it
    is not so easy. The fact that you went through your second ordeal
    with a lot less drama suggests that you have moved forward
    to some degree Trying to move past a few issues of my own
    it’s not so easy I know.

    • I did a couple of things Larry. First, I focused more on being the conscious [spiritual] observer of the experience. Second, rather than focusing on the idea of death, I focused on the notion of going back home [to our spiritual home].

  2. Fred
    Sorry to hear. About. Your uncle or aunt you mentioned both greif is different for everyone as we all know .
    The trick is not to let it linger
    Native american would greive by crying very loudly for 3 days get it out sounds like u were doing the same.
    I lost my mother recently and cryed like a 2 yr old. Ich Liebe Dich Mama!
    I just let myself go and later felt much better. Sometimes I have to watch a sad movie to get it going.
    Just a thought I would share
    Peace, Suzie

Leave a Reply

