My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 206 … I can’t watch violence anymore!

great escapeI stopped watching the news and reading newspapers years ago. I did so, after I came to the realization that most of what I was reading was bad news, had no direct impact on my life and just made me feel bad! Then, as if to validate my decision, I read an article in a health magazine that stated that watching 1/2 hour of the evening news can turn an alkaline body into an acidic one. Disease flourishes in an acidic body, but cannot survive in one that is alkaline.

Now I can’t watch violence of any sort anymore! It puts me in a negative state of mind and worsens the symptoms I am experiencing. It works against my recovery!

Movies I used to really enjoy no longer appeal to me. This includes Saving Private Ryan, The Great Escape and 48 Hours, three of my favorite movies of all time. It even includes Titanic, my favorite romance. While watching  it recently, I was fine until the point where the ship started sinking and people started dying. After that, I just couldn’t watch it anymore!

Three significant “events” contributed to my change in movie preference. First, is my transition into spiritual consciousness and living my life more spiritually. Second, was experiencing panic attacks in 2014 which seemed to leave me more susceptible to experiencing fear. Third, was a comment by Eckhart Tolle in which he was considering what the aliens might say upon returning to their home planet after visiting Earth. He imagined them saying, “Humans are peculiar beings! They entertain themselves by watching movies about killing each other!”

When you think about it, it is truly bizarre that we do this!

Keeping the mind and body in a tranquil, happy state, I believe, is essential for neurological healing to take place. Watching violent movies and TV shows filled with conflict and death works against this and therefore is best avoided.

So now days, I’m pretty much limited to comedies, documentaries and light dramas. Thank goodness for Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore … heh heh! I also watch a lot of funny stuff on Youtube, including the Rick Mercer Report, Steven Colbert and Just for Laughs Gags! Very humorous stuff that makes me feel good indeed!

Have an awesomely peaceful day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 206 … I can’t watch violence anymore!

  1. You know I haven’t watched the news or read papers for years too, it is too depressing. I hardly watch TV as well. I rather spend my time with something I really enjoy like making earrings or read a good book or dance! Much happier htan all the bad news. You still hear what is going on in the world but that is in the different way.

  2. I also decided watching news on tv is not helpful and not necessary, it’s almost always bad news anyway. I need to live quietly and calmly to recover.

  3. I totally agree with you. I found it worst whilst listening to the evening news and eating dinner. I found my food didn’t go down well and I began to see it as ‘ingesting bad news’ I eat a lot better now without the news. Have a great weekend. 😊

Leave a Reply

