My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 204 … How to eliminate leg cramps and skin rash!

reliefAs a follow-up to some recent posts on how to manage specific symptoms, I would like to offer some advice on how to eliminate leg cramps and skin rash, two common symptoms of this neurological condition [parkinson’s] for which the medical community is uncertain of the cause.

For at least a year, I had been experiencing cramps in my calf muscles, usually when stretching my legs while laying in bed first thing in the morning. They were quite painful. Then a couple of months ago I was speaking with a friend who is dealing with amyloidosis, a very  serious health condition. He said that he had been experiencing extremely painful leg cramps until his new physician suggested that he try vitamin D3. It worked! The vitamin regimen eliminated the cramps.

I had stopped taking vitamin D3, but on my friend’s recommendation, I started taking it again. Since then, the cramps have been less frequent and less severe. I’m experimenting with the dosage [I’m presently taking 4000 IU per day], to determine the ideal level.

It is also helpful to be well hydrated and to stretch the calf muscles frequently throughout the day.

As for the skin rashes, last year, I started developing them on my chest, throat and right shoulder. Mari suggested that I try Calendula cream and vitamin E, which I did, and the combination eliminated the rashes. I take one Vit E capsule per day [400 IU] and I mostly put the cream on before bedtime because it tends to stain clothing.

If you are experiencing these symptoms, please let me know how you make out with these remedies.

Have an awesomely cheerful day!

10 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 204 … How to eliminate leg cramps and skin rash!

  1. Hi Fred
    I take 14000 iu of vitamin d3 per day. My functional medical doctor tests my blood often to make sure my values are ok. I also take b12 shots which helped me a lot.
    I also tested positive for SIBO recently which could account for my absorption and digestion difficulties.
    I just keep looking for reasons that my body has these symptoms.
    Thank you for your updates and information
    Blessings
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara! Whenever there is something amiss with my physical body, I remind myself that what is going on in my body is a reflection of my emotions, which are a reflection of my thoughts, which are a reflection of my beliefs. So I encourage you to ask yourself, what are the thoughts and beliefs that are creating the physical condition I am experiencing? Once you identify the belief, then you can change it. Please let me know if you need help with this.

      Many blessings on your day!
      Fred

  2. Hi Fred,
    Thank you for your reply.
    I, too – agree that the bottom line is that Parkinson’s is a disease that begins in our thoughts and behaviors and in our spiritual condition. I have been working on these issues and know that my health is directly related to my thinking and my levels of peace.
    The thing is that we are triune beings – we are spirit, soul and body. We live on a physical planet in a physical body and though I think that my soul and spirit are the most important things to work on for my healing – I also believe that I have to take care of my physical body.
    You ask if I need help – YES – I never turn down any information that can help me.
    I look forward to your help.
    blessings
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara! My apologies for taking so long to get back to you! And my apologies, as most people aren’t aware of the thoughts, emotions and physical ailments connection. What symptoms are most troublesome for you and are there any experiences from your past that you feel you have yet to resolve? Has fear been a predominant part of your experience?

      • HI Fred, my symptoms are pretty awful. I would say the symptoms themselves are frightening! I have worked on all kinds of issues from the past – and their consequences today. I think fear is the biggest problem I have. I know that my fears keep me pretty activated. How about you? Any ideas?
        Thank you for writing.
        Blessings
        Barbara

      • Fear has been my biggest challenge as well Barbara. For the past almost two years, I have been experiencing increasingly intense symptoms caused by fear that has increased in intensity and duration almost on a daily basis. But I’m pleased to say that I’ve been feeling better over the past 10 days due primarily to three things. First, gaining clarity on my true authentic spiritual self. That I’m not my body. Nor am I the symptoms I’m experiencing. Nor am I the fear I’m experiencing. Nor am I the thoughts that is creating the fear or the detrimental beliefs that are at the root of the thoughts. Rather, I’m the conscious observer, the spiritual presence that lives in oneness with god and all that is and I am having this [PD] experience in order to gain clarity on who I truly am. Second, that life truly is only lived in the present moment and what we do in the present moment shapes each future present moment, just like a pebble that is dropped in a pond creates a ripple that flows outward affecting each water droplet in succession. Therefore, it is essential that I do my best to be tranquil, happy and grateful in the present moment, in order to create mental and physical tranquility and happiness in each subsequent present moment. Third, that the fear I’m feeling is fear that I’ve been suppressing all my life because I was forced to or because I chose to, and this fear needs to be felt, expressed and released. Is not to be feared or run away from. All I need to do is allow it and let it pass.

        Gaining clarity on my true spiritual essence and the importance of creating my ideal present moment, and the nature of the fear I’ve been feeling, I believe, has turned the corner for me and I am finally starting to feel better. I’m feeling less fear and less intense symptoms. I’m very excited and very optimistic that I will continue to improve!

        I hope this is been helpful!
        Cheers!
        Fred

        PS Oh yes, exercise has also been very important. I continue to walk every morning and I’m doing a lot more calisthenics, martial arts exercises, pushups, stretching and so on. It is definitely helping me feel better!

      • Hi Fred,
        I am happy that you are feeling better. I was feeling some better and then on two occasions I got stressed … frightened … and angry and my symptoms escalated. Of coarse the doctor is saying very negative things about what it means when your symptoms escalate … but I know better. The doctor only sees people who want someone else to fix them. They want to take a pill and get completely better … but unfortunately that is not the nature of the disease of Parkinson’s. I know that my stress escalated my symptoms … so if my stress escalated my symptoms … peace can definitely heal them or reverse them.

        There is a scripture in the bible that speaks about this very issue …

        Proverbs 11:17 The merciful man doeth good to his own soul, but he that is cruel troubles his own flesh.

        Our soul is where we think, feel, decide and remember – so when we are merciful – and mercy is another word for love – we do good to our own soul. So when we are loving to others and to ourselves … we do good to our own soul. But when we are cruel – and after much studying about this – cruelty can be bitterness, unforgiveness, murder with your tongue or heart or hand, fear, envy and jealousy, hatred, strife etc etc … we trouble our own flesh.

        WE MAKE OURSELVES SICK!!

        This is exactly what I think that I have done. I have made myself sick with the thoughts that I have allowed to hang around in my mind.

        It seems as if knowing this would turn my situation around … but … unfortunately … that has not happened yet.

        I am working diligently to turn this around.

        I appreciate your candor about your own fears. I know for a fact that our bodies can heal if we change our thoughts and behaviors.

        How did you change your mind about fear? I find that I think that I am getting rid of my fears and then something happens that activates my fears again.

        I appreciate your help! and your experiences.
        Blessings
        Barbara

      • Understanding and dissolving fear has been a long process for me. First, I had to get through enough anger to start bringing up fear so that I could recognize that it was at the root of this neurological condition. Then I had to understand that the anxiety and panic attacks I was experiencing was just fear wanting to leave my body. Then I had to understand that the purpose of fear is to guide us to self love and spiritual awakening. Then I had to understand that the fear I’m experiencing is fear I have been holding onto all my life and it needs to be felt, accepted and processed before it can be dissolved. This is the point I am at now. As I said, it has been a long process, but I’m trusting that I am on the right track.

Leave a Reply

