My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 200 … Overwhelmed!

overwhelmedDo you feel overwhelmed from time to time? I certainly do! Yesterday was a case in point. Between Gmail, Facebook, WordPress [which I thoroughly enjoy] and text messages, not to mention a variety of karate and non-karate tasks and to do’s, I was feeling quite overwhelmed.

They say that as you get older you tend to be more prone to being overwhelmed. I recall a few years ago, a friend telling me that he had recently invited his 90 year old father over for dinner. His father said he couldn’t make it because he had “too much to do.”  When my friend pressed, his father admitted that he had an appointment on Thursday. The dinner invitation was for Sunday!

In my case, I don’t think it is an age thing [after all, I’m not 90 years old … not even close]. I think it is more of a neurological condition thing. I’ve noticed that as my condition has worsened [as the fear has intensified], I am more easily overwhelmed, frequently by things that never would have bothered me in the past. Sometimes, for instance, I look at the dishes in the sink and walk away in bewilderment.

Stress is the enemy of a person who is recovering from a neurological condition. It puts us in the fight or flight mode which exacerbates our condition. Being overwhelmed creates stress, and so, must be minimized.

Organization is key! I marvel at people with good organizational skills! Their lives are so much easier! My middle daughter is a good example! I remember quite vividly looking in her closet one day when she was a kid and seeing that she had bought white and purple clothes hangers and she and put all of her tops on the white ones and bottoms on purple. Nobody taught her this. She figured it out herself.

Be organized! Make lists! Break things down to simple tasks! Stay in the moment! A friend of mine used to say, don’t get too far out over your skis! Don’t get too far ahead of yourself. Stay focused on the task at hand and take it one step at a time!

The solution to my recent  dilemma was very simple. I made a list, prioritized the items on the list and got to work. I’m still working through the list, but at least my head isn’t spinning.

Have an awesomely organized day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 200 … Overwhelmed!

  1. You are so right My mum is the same…almost 90 and getting all excited and no time when we want to take her out. Well being organise is the best. all the best Fred.

Leave a Reply

