My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 198 … What can I do?

repatterningI am currently reading, The Brain’s Way of Healing, by Norman Doidge. The book is essentially about repatterning the brain and reprogramming the mind in order to overcome a health condition based on the understanding that the brain is neuroplastic. It can be changed!

From my experience, I’ve learned that unresolved emotional pain is at the root of all illness, and in the case of neurological conditions [parkinson’s disease], fear is the primary culprit. We have had experiences that have caused thoughts that have created fear. These thoughts have also created synapses and neural pathways in the brain. What is more, they’ve been thought so often that they have become a belief that is triggering fear on an unconscious level. In other words, it is triggering chronic fear!

The fear we are experiencing is exacerbated by the condition itself. We’re told it’s progressive, degenerative and incurable, and when our symptoms do in fact get worse, the feeling of fear can be considerable. I experienced this first hand when I started having panic attacks a year and half ago. Thankfully, I got over them rather quickly.

The challenge is to find a way[s] to neutralize this fear by repatterning the brain … creating new synapses and neural pathways. Sort of like an athlete changing a bad habit.

In my last post, I talked about using exercise to take myself out of a fearful mindset. Another technique I’ve learned is to ask myself, “What can I do?” For example, if I’m thinking about the neurological condition I’m experiencing, I ask myself, “What can I do today to bring me closer to recovering my health?” If I’m feeling stressed, I ask myself, “What can I do right now, what joyful action can I take, to put myself in a tranquil state?” After I ask myself the question, I make a list and take action.

I can ask this question in any situation. If I find myself worrying about my finances, I ask, “What can I do today to help me increase my income?” The objective, is to take my attention away from negative thoughts [what is worrying me] and put it on positive thoughts [taking action].

The memories of the experiences we’ve had will always be with us. We may never forget them. But, with practice, we can stop thinking about them. We can reprogram our thinking and change our focus, thereby removing ourselves from the fight or flight mode and placing ourselves in a state of tranquility and poise.

Wishing you good health and gratified fulfillment in 2016!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 198 … What can I do?

  1. Hi Fred,
    Have you ever heard of Ashok Guptas program for brain retraining?
    There are programs out there that can help us to retrain our brain. I am certain that Parkinson’s is a disease where our amygdala is hyperactive.
    Blessings
    Barbara

  2. Sorry you did get the authors name correct. My eyes made the mistake!!

    Peace Frank

    We have Stone Age emotions, medieval institutions, and godlike technology. It’s a very dangerous mix.” E.O. Wilson

    >

Leave a Reply

