My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 197 … Exercise liberates me from fear!

confidenceIn my last post, I wrote about the discovery I made on how to get out of a chair easier by ‘slamming down my hands.’ I recently made an even more important discovery.

For over a year now I have been contending with intense symptoms created by fear. [I can tell when I’m in a state of fear by my raspy voice and the noose-like feeling around my throat. It’s weird, but it’s real!] Then a couple of months ago, after learning about John Pepper and how he had used exercise [particularly walking] to neutralize the symptoms he was experiencing, I started exercising more [martial arts exercises, speed exercises, knee raises, stretching and so on] and less qigong. Not long afterwards, I realized that when I was doing these exercises my voice improved and the noose-like feeling went away. I also noticed that I could walk normally and move faster. There was less tension in my arms and I could perform tasks easier. When I thought about it, I also realized that the same was true during my morning walks.

I also figured out that when I yelled doing these exercises, the affect was even more profound. And the louder I yelled, the better!

Why is this happening? I’m guessing, that when I am exercising my mind is focused on the activity and therefore not in the adrenaline-cortisol producing fight or flight state, so the symptoms I experience diminish. It’s also quite possible that because I’m feeling more joyful my brain cells are producing dopamine and serotonin, the feel good neurotransmitters.

So it stands to reason if doing these exercises has this affect on me, the more often I do them, the longer my body will be out of the fight or flight mode and therefore, the sooner it will recover. In effect, what I’m doing, is creating an alternative to the habitual state of fear I have been in so that healing can take place. It is similar to the brain repatterning technique described by Norman Doidge in chapter one of The Brain’s Way Of Healing.

Of course I can’t be doing intense exercises all day [it would wear me out], so they have to be short and spread out. But this is okay. Coupled with my healing prayer [see below] it seems to be working because I have been feeling better!

YAHOO!

Have an awesomely active day!

Healing prayer:

Thank you Spirit and thank you higher self for dissolving the synapses and neural pathways, neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and from my being, All of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy and all of the shame and detrimental thoughts that need to be dissolved and released in order for me to feel tranquil, poised and self assured. And I thank you for this healing and I thank you for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 197 … Exercise liberates me from fear!

  1. Great discovery Fred! I read some article that exercise nor so much increases dopamine production, but the receptors are working more efficient. And ofcourse theres also the enhanced GCDNF production. But whatever the mechanism is, facr is that the symptoms abate after a workout. I work on the heavybag daily. In the beginning my left jab is weak and slow but in time it gets better. Did I not point you to the stories of David Blatt and Neil Sligar. Theres increasing evidence and there will be more. Best wishes for you in the new year dear Fred!

      • Dr. David H.Blatt is a physician with PD.
        He has videos on youtube and keeps a site. He is a proponent of exercise. He specializes in juggling, skiing, boxing etc. He has videos to show his improvement over time.
        Neil Sligar is an australian gentleman who was diagnosed 12 years ago but managed to become extremely fit and strong, with strengthtraining and fitness. He has some videos on Youtube. More info about him and his training regime is available on the net. One youtube video of mr Sligar working out was made on request of prof. Bas Bloem who is international acclaimed PD researcher and practicing physician /MDS.
        Both of these men have improved on their fitness and wellbeing in spite of PD by intense exercise.

Leave a Reply

