My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 196 … Getting out of a chair!

elationEvery once in awhile something happens, or I make a discovery, that reminds me and reinforces why I chose to recover my health naturally.

Let me explain!

If you are like me, you likely have difficulty getting out of chairs, particularly if they sit low to the floor. Depending on what I’m sitting in, it might take me two or three attempts to stand up. Recently however, I discovered, quite by accident, a technique that helps me get out of chairs more easily. Slamming down my hands! If I slam my hands down hard on the arms of the chair or the seat of the sofa [or even on my thighs] I can stand up easily. It’s awesome!

Since posting this blog a week ago, I have been learning about the Feldenkrais Method of movement and I came across this video on how to get out of a chair with minimal effort. It works like a charm!

Dealing with this neurological condition [Parkinson’s] is partly about recovering my health and partly about neutralizing and overcoming the symptoms that have to be dealt with on a daily basis. If I were taking medication, chances are I wouldn’t have discovered these techniques because the meds would be doing the job for me. Doing it naturally forces me to deal with the symptoms, creatively!

Every time I make a discovery like this, I’m on a high! I feel empowered and it gives me great confidence that I will indeed fully recover my health!

Have an awesomely slamming day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 196 … Getting out of a chair!

  1. Hi Fred! I do something alike, especially when standing uo from a very low stool or seat, I raise my arms, swing both my arms downward, fingers pointing to the floor, it gives me forward momentum so I can standup. Dont you love those little discoveries!

Leave a Reply

