My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 192 … A process for dissolving fear!

innovation“Good morning Fred. How’re you doing?”

“Not so good!”

“I’m sorry to hear that! What’s going on?”

“I’m feeling really intense fear and it’s causing me to have extremely intense symptoms.”

“What are you scared of right now?”

“I’m not sure.”

“If you had to take a guess, what would you say you are scared of?”

“I think I’m scared of people thinking I’m a loser because I’m always making mistakes.”

“Why does this scare you?”

“Because no one will love me.”

“Can you say with 100% certainty that this is true?”

“No!”

“And if it were true, would you be okay? Could you go on living?”

“Yes, but it would be hard.”

“In what way?”

“I would be sad and lonely.”

“Again, can you say with 100% certainty that this is true?”

“No!”

“And if it were true, could you handle it?”

“I would do my best!”

“Yes! Awesome! You would do your best! And do you realize that there’s an alternative way of thinking about this? You can choose to believe that it is okay to make mistakes. Just ask Thomas Edison! Mistakes are an essential element of learning. They help us to better understand things.”

“That’s true! Like the football quarterback who learns from throwing dropped passes and interceptions.”

“Precisely!”

“So it’s okay to make mistakes!”

“Indeed! They are unavoidable! It is only the egoic need to judge ourselves and others due to low self worth and a lack of spiritual consciousness that causes us to think of mistakes in a negative, self destructive way!

“Yes! I understand!”

The above “conversation” is taken pretty much verbatim from my journal from a few weeks ago when I was trying to understand the intense fear I was experiencing. I realized after I finished the process that this is exactly what I’ve been looking for as a way to dissolve the fear I’ve been experiencing on a daily basis for over a year now, and which is at the root of the neurological condition [PD] I have developed. It is similar to Byron Katie’s, The Work. It is also similar in intention to Teal Swan’s ‘Follow the Feeling‘ process.

Hallelujah!

The aim of the process is to reframe the way we think and feel about certain things, such as failure, so that they no longer affect us in a detrimental way.

Keep in mind, that much of this is happening on a subconscious level. The fear we are feeling is quite often the result of detrimental beliefs that we’re holding on the subconscious level of our mind.

The process: 

It is a three step process. Step one involves identifying and reframing the fear. Step two involves repeating a healing prayer in order to help dissolve the belief/fear. Step three involves creating an alternative thought or affirmation as a way of retraining [rewiring] the brain. Here’s how it works:

Step 1:

  1. Begin by asking, “What is it that I’m afraid of right now?”
  2. Record your response
  3. If you’re not sure, or if you don’t get an answer, then ask, “If I had to take a guess, what would I say that I’m afraid of?”
  4. Record your response
  5. Then ask, “Why does this scare me?” [You may have to ask this more than once to get to the core fear]
  6. Record your response
  7. Depending on the answer, next ask, “Can I say with 100% certainty that this is true?”
  8. Record your response
  9. Next ask, ” And if it were true, would I be okay? Could I go on living?”
  10. Record your response
  11. If the answer is ‘no’ or ‘yes, but …’ then ask, “Why is that so?”
  12. Record your response
  13. Then ask, “Again, can I say with 100% certainty this is true?”
  14. Record your response
  15. Then ask, “If it were true could I handle it?”
  16. Record your response
  17. If the answer is positive, say “Awesome!” Then say, “Do I realize there is an alternative way of thinking about this? I can choose to accept  that it is okay for me to believe, even subconsciously, whatever is causing me to feel fear at this moment because it helps me to know fear. This is essential because knowing fear helps me to know love. [I can also choose to believe that it is okay to make mistakes. Just ask Thomas Edison! Mistakes are an essential element of learning. It helps us to better understand things.] In fact, all experience is essential, including negative, undesirable experiences that cause us to feel fear and emotional pain. These unpleasant experiences provide the contrast that helps us understand and appreciate what we truly desire [for example, to be healthy], just like knowing black helps us understand white. It is only the egoic need to judge due to low self worth and a lack of spiritual consciousness that causes us to regard any unpleasant experience or feeling in a negative, self destructive way! In that sense, these unpleasant experiences and feelings are awesome because they help guide us to spiritual consciousness and self love.”
  18. Record your response

Step 2:

Repeat healing prayer:

“Thank you Spirit and thank you higher self for dissolving the synapses and neural pathways, neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and from my being, All of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy and all of the shame and detrimental thoughts that need to be dissolved and released in order for me to feel tranquil, poised and self assured. And I thank you for this healing and I thank you for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

Step 3:

Alternative thought:

Create a thought or affirmation that can be repeated in order to dissolve the faulty belief and corresponding fear. It can be specific. For example: “It is okay to make mistakes. They are an essential part of our experience. They help us learn. Just ask Thomas Edison!”

Or it can be more general in nature: “I accept that I have had a thought that is causing me to feel fear at this moment. This is okay because this feeling helps me to know fear, and this is essential because knowing fear helps me to know love and calm. All experience is essential, including undesirable experiences and thoughts that cause me to feel fear and emotional pain because they provide the contrast that helps me understand and appreciate what I truly desire [like my desire to be healthy], just like knowing black helps me understand white. These unpleasant experiences and feelings are awesome because they are helping guide me to spiritual consciousness, self love, self assurance, inner peace and calm, good health, abundance and joyful living. I give thanks for this understanding and I have trust that with this understanding this fear will eventually dissolve and I will feel calm. And furthermore, regardless of what happens, I have faith that I will be okay! Namaste.”

The intention of this process is to, over time, begin to dissolve the detrimental beliefs that are at the root of the fear[s] that are keeping our body in a chronic state of fight or flight, so they will stop producing so much adrenaline and cortisol and begin producing more dopamine and serotonin. Think of it as having a conversation with yourself. If you give it a try, I would love to hear your feedback. Is it easy to follow? Is it helpful?

Have an awesomely transformational day!

12 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 192 … A process for dissolving fear!

  1. Oh wow Fred! My Pa was a public speaker and used to tell me that before he went up to speak he acknowledged the fact that he was afraid and then he did it afraid! I have done this as well many times like today I sat in that feeling like you did and I watched it lose its hold which caused a lot of, what I call stupidity , personally speaking of course! Last Saturday my girl woke up blind in her right eye and it’s been very scary and I don’t think sometimes we get to not do it afraid. I really like this post! I think maybe it gets less hard with each time maybe! Im not sure but I think may be! 😳😁

    • I am sorry to hear about your girl MichelleMarie. I hope she is better. Fear is definitely a conundrum because it usually feels bigger than whatever it is we’re afraid of and it doesn’t help the situation. Wishing you an awesome day! Fred

  2. You are your own therapist Fred! Thanks for the post and opening your heart to us all. Your recommendation of using a journal to process your fears, needs, desires, issues and concerns is so important. Sometimes it’s difficult to express our innermost feelings but a journal has no judgment and is a great place to start. Blessings on your journey.

  3. Hi Fred, I started reading your blog since my father has just been diagnosed last week with parkinsons. His name is Fred too. He has been given lavadopa and carvadopa but has not started taking it as he is worried about the side affects. Have you taken it? I am going to try to take him to a naturopath but I live in St George Ontario. My parents live in BC. I have altered my diet to be alkaline, taking good suplements and have been taking a really good probiotic and a good pancreatic enzymes since I have had cancer twice (so far I don’t have it anymore) and am hoping to prevent it. Have you taken the later 2 things at all (pancreatic enzymes/probiotics)? Was just wondering about if they are at all helpful for PD. Also did you have any naturopath tests and did you find them insightful.
    I like your blog and the level of detail. Will have to read some more of it.
    Warm regards 🙂 Sandra

  4. hola Fred muy interesante tu post. Otro miedo que hay que resolver es el miedo a la enfermedad misma, el miedo al futuro de una enfermedad que los medicos dicen “incurable progresiva degenerativa”

  5. Hi Fred very interesting your post. Another fear to be solved is the same fear of disease, fear of the future, a disease that doctors say “incurable progressive degenerative”

Leave a Reply

