My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 183 … Moments of Normal!

peaceful momentExperiencing a neurological condition [parkinson’s] is confounding! Once in a while, when I am in the middle of, or about to begin, a task, I think, this is so weird! I can remember very easily when I could do this normally. It might be opening a jar, washing dishes, putting on a shirt or simply standing still. It is indeed a weird and confounding situation!

But there are also moments when I feel normal! It may be when I’m lying in bed, meditating, or sitting in a chair in the grass, grounding. It may be when I’m practicing qigong, sitting on the dock or splashing about in the lake. I cherish these moments of normal! No trembling! No clenching! No staggering about! No shuffle walk! When I experience these moments, I am at peace, so I spend as much time in them as possible!

Dealing with the daily challenges of a neurological condition requires acceptance, trust and faith! Acceptance of the situation. Trust that this is a necessary part of my life journey. And faith, that no matter what happens, I will be okay. Without this approach, I leave myself exposed to frustration and disappointment, and this works against me. It puts me in a state of stress which impedes my recovery.

Coping successfully also involves taking the time to enjoy those wonderful moments of normal! When all seems right with the world I hold so dear!

Have an awesomely normal day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 183 … Moments of Normal!

  1. Hey Fred and everyone, it makes me think what a complex system the central nervous system really is, and how its tied into everything.I have really good moments too, and I relish them everytime. I appreciate everything more….
    But yes confounding is a great word for PD, I say this “pickle I’ve gotten myself into” lightly when I realize I can’t figure it out! I’ve always used my head intensely for everything, now that doesn’t work. So I try not to dissociate feelings, it’s something not to fall into that trap.
    Anyway, I’m rambling, thanks for the wise words.
    Suzie

Leave a Reply

