My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 180 … Three reasons to recover!

guitarI have three reasons to recover my health! Heck, I have many more than three, but I have three very good personal reasons!

Reason number one! I want to be able to play the guitar and mandolin again! I love playing Like a Rolling Stone by Bob Dylan, Hasn’t Hit Me Yet by Blue Rodeo and Shout by Tears for Fears on the guitar. On the mandolin, I love playing Wagon Wheel by the Old Crow Medicine Show and Copperhead Road by Steve Earle. I also like playing Amazing Grace! It didn’t take long after I learned to play the guitar 15 years ago that I fell in love with it and could make 3 hours disappear rather quickly playing it! My intention is to be able to do this again!

Reason number two! I love swimming! I love the feel of the water! It invigorates me! But in the last couple of years, it seems that I’ve lost my swimming stroke, mainly due to loss of buoyancy, strength and coordination. I intend to be able to swim like a champ again, and in the meantime, I will stick to shallower waters!

Reason number three! I love skiing and want to be able to do it normally again! I didn’t ski this past winter, mainly because it was so cold, but also because the year before I had had difficulty skiing properly, and I found it a little dangerous! I also froze my butt off on a couple of occasions, one of the hazards of weight loss! Skiing is a great way to pass away the winter, and I intend to do it again!

I think it’s really important to be motivated by positive objectives, things I love. In my experience, it is more powerful and significantly increases the chance of success! It creates a positive energy and more peace of mind!

Have an awesomely motivated day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 180 … Three reasons to recover!

  1. Hi Fred
    Do you know about David H Blatt, MD. He’s a PD sufferer who was able to improve on his skiing. Hes got an interesting site with some exercises.

    • Thank you for this Hans! I checked out his website and some of his videos. He seems very intense! But I understand his enthusiasm and commitment! Practicing martial arts has really helped me, particularly those exercises that enhance strength, balance and coordination! Have an awesome day! Fred

Leave a Reply

