My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 176 … Inspirational Songs!

bagpipesIn a recent blog, I wrote about the role of laughter in my protocol to recover my health. Laughing triggers the release of endorphins and other feel good neurotransmitters. This, in turn, helps to alkaline the body, heal the gut, strengthen the immune system and dissolve inflammation, conditions necessary to return the body to homeostasis. In my experience, songs that elevate can have the same affect.

I love music and I have a long list of inspirational and feel good songs, both inside and outside the rock ‘n roll genre that I love listening to. The one that uplifts me most is Amazing Grace on bagpipes. I don’t quite recall when I first heard this piece, penned by a former slave ship captain, or when it became so meaningful to me [the passage of time can do that to a fella], but nothing stirs me more! Several years ago, we were in the Dominican Republic for my niece’s wedding. There was another large wedding group there at the same time and a member of this group played the bagpipes. He kindly played Amazing Grace for us! It was awesome!

I’m also greatly moved by Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey. If the song itself isn’t moving enough, the story of the band’s new lead singer, Arnel Pineda’s, incredible odyssey from the streets of the Philippines to fronting one of the biggest rock bands in the world is nothing short of phenomenal.

Other songs that are particularly uplifting or joyful for me include:

I also enjoy listening to music put to sounds of nature. Dan Gibson, in particular, has a huge body of work in this category.

Listening to stirring songs or beautiful songs or meaningful songs can lift me from a dark mood. They help me dissolve fear.So I try to listen to at least one or two everyday.

Whatever your particular list of favorites, they are your stress busters! Your source of healing!

Have an awesomely inspirational day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 176 … Inspirational Songs!

Leave a Reply

