My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 175 … Worry!

trustIf you are experiencing a neurological disorder [parkinson’s, ALS, MS] chances are, you’ve spent too much of your life worrying. I certainly have! Worrying about what people think of me. About failing. Worrying about getting beaten up, being laughed at, spanked, criticized, punished, etc. Worrying about money, keeping my job, the mortgage, the kids, my parents, etc. And where did it get me? Absolutely nowhere!

Worry is defined as ‘a state of anxiety and uncertainty over actual or potential problems.’ It is fear, plain and simple! It stems from a lack of acceptance, trust and faith.

Worrying causes a stress response in the body. It puts us in a state of fight or flight. It initiates the release of stress hormones in the adrenal glands, such as adrenaline and cortisol. It also causes the part of the brain that produces feel good neurotransmitters, such as dopamine and serotonin, to shut down. Chronic worry eventually leads to a neurological and hormonal breakdown.

When you think about it, worrying accomplishes nothing constructive. Some people argue that it inspires us to take action, but we can be inspired independent of worry. And it definitely works against us when we’re trying to recover from a neurological condition, so it is worth addressing.

What has helped me more than anything else to let go of worry, is reading The Power of Now and A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle. These two books taught me about living in the present moment and how to dissolve ego, the source of our worry.

I still worry [it’s a hard habit to break], but not nearly as much as I used to. I practice living in the present moment and I do my best to accept, trust and have faith. More than anything else though, I practice living in spiritual consciousness.

For the last word on this subject, I turn to Rapper 50 Cent, who said in an interview with Oprah Winfrey, “Don’t pray to God and then worry about it. That’s just stupid!”

I couldn’t have said it better!

Have an awesomely trusting day!

21 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 175 … Worry!

  1. Yes i thoroughly enjoyed that, what an inspiration, is anyone doing any of this? I just started hoola-hooping again, its like ridin’ a bike!
    Thanks.

  2. Gosh this is so true…and many do not realize worry is fear. Love the comments about dissolving ego – gads it takes us the wrong way every time :); and then staying present – wow what a great article.

    Love it and needed every word so thank you!!!

  3. my worries intertwine with the anxiety, has anyone any good I mean great ideas for anxiety, I think if I could calm down my adrenal glands (I actually loose weight at night, I must be burning calories 24/7)
    I don’t mean to get neg. on this, I appreciate all the info I can get.
    I’ve gotten into a pickle….

  4. Gosh Fred I did not realize that you learned the Lift Chi up/Chi Down and that you noticed results. That is wonderful! Did you actually buy his CD or DVD? Thrilled it works for you πŸ™‚ …helps me too and working toward doing it daily.

    I saw too where you said you spoke with Bianca who reversed her Parkinson’s symptoms. That must have been a great conversation!

    Suzi – I hope you do try it. Many people who had Parkinson’s use it since they claim their symptoms reversed….and the more and more each day as they practiced. Amazing stories …

    Take care everyone πŸ™‚
    Lori

Leave a Reply

