My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 174 … Laughter, the best medicine!

mtmLaughter really is the best medicine! Studies have actually shown that laughter helps alkaline the body, reduce inflammation and strengthen the immune system, things that are necessary in order to return the body to homeostasis.

Since learning that fear is at the root of the neurological condition I’m experiencing [parkinson’s], I have made laughter an integral part of my healing protocol. I have also stopped watching the news and reading newspapers and watching dark, depressing, violent TV shows. Instead, I have been watching a lot of Rick Mercer videos on Youtube. Mercer has a weekly political satire and Canadianna show on CBC TV in Canada and he is quite funny. It helps me feel better!

A few days ago, I experienced firsthand value of laughter. I woke up not feeling great [I was experiencing rather intense symptoms], but after watching two comedies movies in the afternoon, during which I laughed a lot, I felt much much better. It was the first time I had experienced such a dramatic shift. Since then, I have been immersing myself in comedy programs on Youtube, particularly after discovering that there are complete episodes of many television shows, including The Beverly Hillbillies, the Mary Tyler Moore Show and WKRP in Cincinnati, three of my favorites. In fact, there’s a particular scene in a Mary Tyler Moore show that for me, is one of the funniest moments in television [right up there with Kramer’s ” I’m out,” on Seinfeld and Arthur Carlson’s ” As God is my witness, I thought turkey’s could fly,” declaration, on WKRP]. I’ve tried to find the scene before, with no luck, but yesterday, I found the full episode! Awesome! Here it is if you wanna check it out. The moment I’m referring to is near the end.

I’ve read stories before about people who recovered their health through laughter and there’s no doubt in my mind that it is possible. I’ve already eliminated watching and reading the news and until I recover my health I’m also going to eliminate watching dark, violent movies. It may just be fiction, but it doesn’t make me feel good. It’s all comedy for me!

Have an awesomely comedic day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 174 … Laughter, the best medicine!

  1. Yes Fred, I’ve also stopped watching TV, and only watch movies with happy themes, and positive outcomes.
    I’ve also discovered the benefits of laughing and often watch YouTube clips of amusing shows.
    I like British humour, as I just don’t find north American humour funny.
    Laughing yoga is very good as well.
    Dopamine bath for the brain.

  2. I no longer watch any television Fred, but tryThe 2 Ronnies, or Billy Connolly clips, always makes me laugh.

Leave a Reply

