My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 167 … Diet Update!

healthy fatsIn response to a request, I’m updating my daily diet plan.  This is my target diet, so I don’t necessarily stick to it every day. It’s high fat, but not necessarily ketogenic.

While my diet may vary a bit from time to time, there are certain things I’m very strict about. I don’t eat junk food, fast food, dairy, corn, wheat, sugar, artificial sweeteners or fruit. Nor do I drink alcohol, pop, coffee, sports drinks or any beverage with sugar in it. I don’t eat fruit, because it exacerbates my symptoms. For some reason, I seem to have a low tolerance for any type of sugar, including natural sugar.

My daily menu::

  • Breakfast … fat smoothie (1/2 – 1 avocado, 2 – 4 tbsp coconut oil, brazil nuts, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, sprinkle of shredded coconut, sprinkle of cacao nibs, olive oil, 3-4 raw eggs, 1/2 tspn cinnamon, 1/4 tspn baking soda, water to desired thickness). I start the smoothie between 9:00 AM and 11:00 AM and I drink it over a 3 to 4 hour period.
  • Dinner…sauerkraut, steamed or lightly sauteed veggies, 1/2 organic avocado, 2 cooked eggs or cooked buckwheat/quinoa, meat or fish and two tbsp of coconut oil. I typically eat dinner between 3:00 PM and 4:00 PM, before I leave to teach karate.
  • After karate meal… half fat smoothie and or nuts & seeds and or organic olives and or cucumber and humus and or canned oysters or mussels.
  • Snacks…nuts & seeds, organic olives.
  • 2-4 glasses of spring water

On occasion I will have buckwheat or quinoa or organic potatoes or sweet potato or buckwheat pancakes as a snack or with dinner. Also, several times a month I will have two eggs and bacon [mostly home smoked] for breakfast before my morning smoothie.

This diet keeps me feeling full.

All food is organic where possible.

Supplements (daily):

  • 2 tbsp Cod Liver Oil … for Vit D3
  • Magnesium only or Magnesium-Calcium-Zinc-Potassium [mostly to prevent constipation]
  • Vit C … 2,000 mg
  • Vit B12 … 5,000 mcg
  • Adrenal support – 3 capsules a day
  • Iodine [for thyroid]

I have done a lot of experimenting and my diet is constantly evolving as I gather new information and try to figure out what works best. One thing is certain though, a healthy, natural [ideally, organic] diet, be it high fat, vegetarian, Paleo or whatever, is essential for restoring homeostasis [by healing the gut, restoring the immune system, unclogging the lymphatic system, eliminating inflammation and alkalining the body] and recovering my health.

Have an awesomely nutritious day!

12 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 167 … Diet Update!

  1. some good ideas here. I am glad to see how you incorporated the coconut oil and to see how many eggs a day you are ( most of the time) consuming. I recently read that eating raw eggs gives one vitamin D naturally, but they didn’t say if it was D3, but I am guessing it is (?).

  2. this supplement produce glutathione.
    Glutathione is the most important molecule you need to stay healthy and prevent disease – but has probably never heard of him. It is the secret to prevent aging, cancer, heart disease, dementia and other diseases, it is also necessary for the treatment of other diseases, such as autism and Alzheimer’s disease. There are more than 76,000 medical articles about it – but your doctor does not know how to deal with the epidemic deficiency of this important life-giving molecule.

    What is? I’m talking about the mother of all antioxidants, detoxifying teacher and master of the immune system: Glutathione

    The good news is that your body produces its own glutathione. The bad news is that poor diet, pollution, toxins, drugs, stress, trauma, aging, infections and radiation depleting glutathione This leaves more susceptible to uncontrolled cell disintegration of oxidative stress, radicals Free, infections and cancer. And the liver is overloaded and even damaged, so he is unable to do its job of detoxification
    another good supplement iss curcuma.or curcumine
    Turmeric is known for its anti-inflammatory properties, which is why is recommended for those with arthritis spice, it helps to relieve pain and eliminate toxins from the body. For all who practice sport can also be a good ally as it helps us keep our joints in perfect conditions preventing swell and hurt.
    It also helps prevent the formation of blood clots, as it improves blood circulation and prevents diseases such as atherosclerosis. But not only it acts this way in blood, but can also improve fat metabolism, it helps the liver to function properly and better assimilate these nutrients. Do not forget that you can be a good ally for diabetics, it helps to reduce blood sugar.
    Turmeric has a high antioxidant protecting our body from the harmful effects caused by free radicals. This is why what is considered to turmeric as an ally in the fight against cancer, and is believed to favor the elimination of carcinogens, and helps our body to produce anti-cancer substances such as glutathione.

Leave a Reply

