My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 166 … 4 Things That Mess Me Up!

stumblingThere are four things that really mess me up:

  1. Stress [especially fear related stress]
  2. Cold
  3. Sugar [refined and natural]
  4. Fatigue

Experiencing anyone of these things intensifies my symptoms, especially, trembling, mobility, balance, gait and cognition. Individually, these conditions are a challenge for me and doubling them up really affects me, Three recent experiences certainly brought this to bear.

While preparing the lists and forms for our year-end Fun Day at the karate club, a task that typically takes a day or more to complete and admittedly causes me a fair bit of physical and mental stress, I decided to add honey to my morning smoothie. Not a good idea! It didn’t take long before the combination of stress and sugar had me trembling and shaking like crazy. And it lasted most of the day.

A few days later, I went for a morning swim. The lake is still quite chilly and I got quite chilled. A lack of body fat didn’t help. Even a hot shower didn’t warm me up. In the process of trying to warm up, another hidden detrimental thought [memory] came up and again, I experienced severe shaking and trembling, loss of mobility and loss of balance.

This past Thursday evening, I worked out pretty heavily for two hours while teaching karate, then did the one hour drive down to Mari’s [I’m finding driving more and more fatiguing and stressful]. The next day, I was a mess, feeling extreme fatigue, loss of mobility, pour gait, loss of balance and cognitive fog. I was stumbling around like a drunk on a Saturday night!

In each case, it took quite a long time before I started to feel better [in the latter case, two full days] , and it reinforced the need for me to minimize stress, stay warm, eliminate sugar and go easy on my workouts in order to feel better and recover my health. Throughout each of these experiences, I did my best to focus on my breath, calm my body and stay happy. I found that practicing Qigong and laughing [I watched a lot of the Rick Mercer Report on Youtube] was very helpful.

So I guess the lesson is, live like a Zen monk, go for the coconut oil, stay warm and go easy on the workouts! Actually, I think it’s more like I need to spend my days bathing in coconut oil in Tahiti! Now that I could get used to!

Have an awesomely easygoing day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 166 … 4 Things That Mess Me Up!

  1. I find it fascinating that you have found that sugar has such a profound effect on you. It is amazing that it is not recommended to be eliminated from diets (for a multitude of reasons).

  2. I have a sister with early symptoms of Parkinsons and I have been researching Lifewave patches seems like something to look into.Beblessed

  3. Hi Fred,
    I salute you for your courage. It shure is a rough ride your going through.
    Your experiences, and the way you bounce back each time, gives us all hope we can hang in there too when the going gets though.
    Take care my friend, ill send positive vibes through the cosmos!
    Best wishes
    Hans

    • Thank you so much Hans! It’s nice to hear from you. We watched a movie last night [Whiplash] that speaks to your point about hanging in there. It’s well worth watching! Cheers! Fred

Leave a Reply

