My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 159 … Be Ready for Anything!

self defenseWhen I was training in martial arts, my instructor regularly reminded us of the self defense adage: expect nothing and be ready for anything! This philosophy applies as much to life as it does to self defense situations.

If somebody had told me ten years ago that I would soon be living with what the medical community describes as a progressive, degenerative, incurable disease, I wouldn’t have believed it. If somebody had told me a year and a half ago, that I would soon be experiencing panic attacks, I likely wouldn’t have believed that either,

We just never know what life is going to throw at us, so expecting nothing, while being ready for anything, is not a bad tenet to live by. In essence, it readies us mentally for whatever situation we might be faced with and it is closely aligned with an attitude of optimism, which is essential for overcoming conditions that might be considered progressive, degenerative and incurable. So too is the attitude that no matter what happens, no matter how bad things might get, we can handle it.

I recently had appointments with both my family doctor and the neurologist I see. Both were adamant in their assertion that it is not possible to recover from parkinson’s. For this reason, I’ve decided to discontinue seeing the neurologist because if he truly believes that recovery is not possible, then he cannot help me. I want somebody in my corner who believes that anything is possible, who expects nothing and is ready for anything.

Eckhart Tolle, author of The Power of Now and A New Earth, claims that one of the keys to happiness and peace of mind is acceptance of the present circumstances. Expecting nothing and being ready for anything mirrors this philosophy. It says, “I accept that the flow of life could lead me anywhere and bring me anything and I will do my best to respond to whatever experiences I might encounter.” I believe this attitude offers me the best chance for recovery.

Have an awesomely ready day!

11 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 159 … Be Ready for Anything!

  1. Hey Fred,
    Good for you for choosing not to continue with you’re neurologist. I can’t believe someone that chooses to go into medicine doesn’t believe in the human spirit? I say good for you!

    Always in your corner,
    Eric

  2. Check into heavy metal detoxing. I’ve read that most neurological problems are related to a heavy metal overstimulating proteins and/or enzymes. Good Luck.

  3. MONNICA Since I was diagnosed I have been to nine neurologists and they were all negative and try to put me on medicine for depression. Then I just move to the next one. Now I go to a nature doctor who is interested in me as a person and give me hope.

Leave a Reply

