My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 157 … Acceptance II

the naturalAcceptance, in my experience, is one of the keys to happiness and good health. Not that I was born a natural in this field. I was no Robert Redford swinging a baseball bat [in The Natural]. No, this is something that has come to me the hard way, in bits and pieces. I have butted heads with more people and situations than I care to remember. And I can tell you this, it didn’t make my life any easier or less stressful. It didn’t bring me a great deal of satisfaction and likely played a role in my developing a neurological condition.

Experience, they say, is the best teacher, and I can say unequivocally, that living a life of resistance has really helped me understand acceptance. Truly comprehend it! And for this, I’m extremely grateful for my butt-headed ways. Perhaps there was a method in my defiant madness!

Acceptance comes in many forms:

  • Acceptance of the present circumstances … including that of a health condition
  • Acceptance of the past … that sometimes people mistreated us because they didn’t feel good about themselves and they weren’t living consciously
  • Acceptance of flow of life … that we’re all part of a mosaic of experiences, pleasant and unpleasant, and that very little of it is in our control
  • Acceptance of the reality that life is not always easy or safe … that we are meant to experience adversity and fearful situations because this teaches us about trust and guides us to love
  • Acceptance that people don’t always behave the way we want them to behave or treat us the way we want to be treated because they are not living consciously and don’t feel good about themselves
  • And the ultimate acceptance, the acceptance of death
  • Actually, perhaps the ultimate ultimate acceptance involves Toronto sports fans accepting that their professional sports teams, including the Maple Leafs, may never win another championship, unless that is, the city adopts Boston [my sincere apologies for the digression]

Non acceptance is resistance and resistance leads to unhappiness, victimhood and suffering. It leads to impatience and anger. What is more, what we resist persists. If we are unable to accept that people don’t always treat is the way we want to be treated, we will likely continue to be dumped on.

Acceptance, of course, doesn’t mean inaction. It is okay to want to change an unpleasant experience. We just do so from a positive mindset.

Acceptance evolves naturally out of consciousness and, in my experience, is one of the essential understandings that guides us to inner peace, joyful living and self love.

Have an awesomely accepting day!

Leave a Reply

