Why I Chose to Treat Parkinson’s Naturally

pillsThis post in support of the American Recall Center, whose aim is to provide drug and medical device recall information along with practical healthcare information and support.  It is my hope, that by telling you a bit of my story, you will know that there is an alternative to taking medication, one of ARC’s mandates.

In 2008, I was told I had a neurotransmitter imbalance. Actually, I was told I had Parkinson’s Disease. I found out through my own research that PD is in fact a neurotransmitter imbalance. From the moment of my diagnosis, I made the decision to heal myself naturally.

There are several reasons why I decided to take a natural approach. First, the only solution allopathic medicine offers involves medication and I am fundamentally opposed to using medication to treat chronic health conditions. Medications only suppress symptoms, they don’t heal. They also come with side effects and Parkinson’s medications can have nasty side effects, including dyskinesia [uncontrolled movements], anxiety, depression and hallucinations. [I still shudder every time I think about a drug I’ve seen advertised on TV that suppresses your craving to smoke, but can cause you to have suicidal thoughts.]

Medications are also very toxic to the body. They acidify the body, which is the exact opposite of what the body needs to stay healthy. It needs to be alkaline. What is more, Parkinson’s medications don’t slow the progression of the condition and their efficacy diminishes over time. They’re just not for me. I have family and friends who live on medication because they have bought in to the western allopathic medical philosophy. A few years ago, my father had knee replacement surgery and when he came home from the hospital, he had prescriptions for 11 different medications. I was shocked!

The second reason I chose to do this naturally is because I believe that any condition can be healed once the underlying emotional root cause has been healed, toxicity and nutritional deficiencies have been addressed and structural damage has been corrected. I have healed acute and chronic conditions over the years and I felt confident that I could heal myself again [I still do].

The third reason I chose the natural approach is because I believe the body is capable of healing itself. If we give the body and spirit what it needs … pure, fresh oxygen, water & food, plus, sunshine, exercise and rest … and free it from stress, it will return to homeostasis, and thus heal itself and stay healthy.

The next reason I chose to heal myself naturally is because I feel it is important to know exactly what’s going on with my body. When I try something new [a change in diet, a new exercise, a new healing technique], I want to know how it affects my body and how it affects the symptoms I’m experiencing. For example, I wanted to know how bouncing a ball while walking would affect my ability to walk without shuffling. Similarly, I wanted to know how a fruitarian diet versus a ketogenic diet would affect me. I would not have learned what I did if I had been masking my symptoms with medication.

The final reason I chose to do this naturally is because I wanted to be in charge of my healing. By taking medication, I would’ve been putting my neurologist in charge and I didn’t want to do that. It would have left me feeling vulnerable and powerless, and I believe, that when it comes to healing yourself, you need to feel empowered.

So it comes down to a choice, allopathic (pills) or natural (diet and lifestyle). I have resolved myself that I will not take pills no matter what the future holds. For me, personally, giving in to medication and the allopathic approach would signify that I have given up, that the ‘disease’ has won, and I’m not going to do that. Besides, nowhere does it say that the cause of any disease is a lack of prescription medication. If it’s not part of the cause, it can’t be part of the solution and I want to heal this condition, not simply manage the symptoms.

A final word on medications: Yes, medications have a role, particularly in short term crisis situations, but I think for the vast majority of people who are experiencing PD or any other health condition, there is no need to take medication.  If you take action immediately, detoxify yourself, eat healthy foods, exercise, address the underlying emotional root cause [including releasing fear], do whatever you can to eliminate stress in your life and practice the modalities and techniques that will give you relief from your symptoms [like Body Stress Relief, Qigong and grounding], you can live quite comfortably without taking medication, and thus, not have to deal with their side effects.

It has been said that the only ones who really benefit from the long-term use of medications are the drug companies that produce them and the doctors and pharmacists who receive kickbacks. Do your research, take responsibility for your health and I believe that you’ll discover that you can return your body to homeostasis and recover your health, naturally.

I wish you Godspeed on your healing journey!

PS … The medical community considers Parkinson’s to be incurable and yet, I’ve learned of four people who have fully recovered from the disease. Bianca Molle and others did it naturally!

7 comments on “Why I Chose to Treat Parkinson’s Naturally

  1. I agree with you up to a point Fred, however I live alone and in order to drive, cook, clean, work part time and function without grinding to a stop, I have been forced to take a minimal dose, even though I thoroughly dislike taking meds for anything.
    I think if I had a partner it would be easier, however he left shortly after my diagnosis, 4 years ago. But I’m doing great, am investigating stem cell treatment . Gathering prices and destinations atm.

    • I can understand that Rebecca. I would be curious to know more about your experience with medications. How have they helped with your symptoms and what are the side effects you have experienced. Most of the feedback I’ve received in regards to medications has been quite negative, so I would be curious to know more about your experience. Cheers! Fred

  2. Hi, I’ve worked out the most minimum dose which I need to function, but if I have a quiet day at home, I try and make those med free days.
    side effects aren’t too annoying, a dry mouth, sometimes feeling a bit sleepy, but I enjoy the feeling of normality, if only for a few hours.
    Cinderella pills I call them.

    • That’s good to know Rebecca. My biggest challenge is loss of balance, but my neurologist tells me there’s no medication for it. I get relief from walking, practicing Qigong, being in water and laying on my back. Otherwise, I just make the best of stumbling about and bouncing off the walls!

  3. Yes I can sympathize totally, as loss of balance is now becoming a big problem for me, but dissappears for a few precious hours following medication.

  4. I take a 100g sinamet and a half a selegiline . I have a small, usually 20 min spell of dyskinesia , at the end of 4 hours after taking meds, then it goes away and my overall function gradually slows down, my balance becomes compromised again, until I take more meds. Each day is a balancing act of meds versus none.

Leave a Reply

