My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 156 … Try Counting!

the countIf your present experience is similar to mine, you may be shuffle walking and having difficulty performing tasks, like shaving, brushing your teeth and writing. Shaving in particular, is quite stressful. My muscles tense up and it gives me the willies.

A year or so ago while I was out walking, and I don’t quite recall why, I started counting my steps, and I noticed immediately, that I was walking almost normally. No scuffing my feet or shortened gait. Amazing!

Since then, I frequently count my steps while I’m walking. I don’t understand the physiology behind it, but it works consistently! Counting actually serves a dual purpose. Not only does it help me walk normally, it also helps keep my mind in the present moment. If only my Grade 1 math teacher could see me now! She would be so proud!

More recently, I decided to apply this process to other tasks. For instance, I like to rinse out my blender by pouring warm water in it, putting the lid on and giving it a shake. But I find the shaking part rather difficult. So I started counting as I was shaking and again, it was much easier. I have also started counting the strokes when I shave and any other task that involves repetitive movement and it really helps! All this enumerating should put me in good stead for tallying my strokes playing golf this summer. “… seven, eight, nine, ten!” “But Fred, it’s a par three!”

I find it almost bizarre, but as I mentioned earlier it seems to work consistently, so if you’re having difficulty performing repetitive tasks or if you shuffle walk, try counting. Hopefully, it works is well for you as it does for me!

Also, remember, big, aggressive movements are also very helpful.

Have an awesomely numerical day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 156 … Try Counting!

  1. That’s awesome! I noticed that on that video of the old man you posted he was counting all the time he was doing those exercises. Counting is the key to keeping everything in the present moment. It’s keeping the mind moving in specific patterns and its off other things.
    Have a 1,2,3,4,… awesome day.
    It always makes me think of Lawrence Welk. Lol
    See you at karate! Eric

Leave a Reply

