My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 154 … I feel like Ali!

muhammad aliMy son recently asked me what it’s like to have a neurological disorder [parkinson’s]. I told him it is ever present. It is with me every single moment of the day. If I’m not being directly affected by the symptoms, like trying to maintain my balance, walk normally or perform a task, there is the frequent trembling, tension, anxiety and constipation to contend with. It can be challenging!

Actually, what I like to tell people, is that I feel like Muhammad Ali, in the 15th round against Joe Frazier. I’ve taken a lot of punches. Been staggered a few times. Knocked down once. But I’m on my feet, scrappin’ and feeling like a champ!

Yes indeed, this neurological condition sometimes has a way of making me feel like a punch drunk boxer! Not that Ali was ever punch drunk [although it is quite ironic that he too is experiencing this neurological condition … far worse than I]. Like Frazier’s constant pursuit, it can be relentless. Most of the time though, I’m able to cope with my condition and symptoms quite well. Other than giving up my motorcycle and putting my guitar playing on hold, it hasn’t greatly affected my life. There are moments when it gets to me. There are times when frustration boils over into anger. But then I calm down, take a deep breath and get back to it.

My condition aside, I have an awesome life, a lot to be thankful for! I have a wonderful girlfriend, awesome kids and a terrific family! I get to teach karate and blog. And I live on the lake near a labyrinth! How fantastic is that?

Yes, I do feel like Ali! Ali when he was a champ! When he was on top of the world! My life is undeniably wonderful!

Have an awesomely champion-like day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 154 … I feel like Ali!

  1. Hey Fred,

    You’ve always been a champ to me!! Keep up the good fight!! You’re an inspiration to us all!! It’s an honour to be in your corner rooting for you.
    Enjoy this day!!

    Eric

  2. I second that!
    Its a great asset to my life knowing you.
    Have a great day and keep up the good work!
    With lots of respect,
    Hans

  3. Thank you for being true to your convictions re health Fred. I feel you have contributed so very much to the benefit of others particularly people enmeshed in the symptoms of PD. I hope you continue to follow this direction.

Leave a Reply

