My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 152 … More on Fear!

messiahFear! As confounding an aspect of human experience as there is. On a physical level, the feeling of fear is meant to keep us alive. Confronted by a hungry lion in the jungle or a jilted ex-lover at the shopping mall, it tells us to fight, take flight or freeze [I recommend option two as it relates to the former flame]. On a spiritual level, it keeps us from, but guides us towards, love.

Perplexing indeed!

If love is our true essence, an ideal state of being, then what precisely is fear?

Fear is defined as “a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc.,whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid.” It is a physical feeling created by a thought that something bad is about to happen. This is the only real fear, the fear we feel in that moment when our life is in danger, and in this sense, it is healthy because it keeps us safe. It causes our bodies to switch into survival mode [fight or flight], prompting all sorts of important metabolic functions and interactions. Fear becomes detrimental, when we feel it in non life threatening situations and when it is chronic. When it starts to run our lives. 

Chronic fear affects us negatively in two ways. First, it causes us to be in a constant state of stress which eventually causes our neurotransmitters and hormones to become out of balance, leading to conditions like parkinson’s. Secondly, it causes us to behave in certain ways that are detrimental to our peace of mind, our relationships with others and having a loving, harmonious society. In other words, it distances us from love.

But, as crazy as this may sound, this is where fear is so incredibly important and a necessary part of our experience. Fear helps us understand what love really is and it inspires is to seek love. It seems that an integral part of the human experience is understanding the opposite of what we truly want [you would need to speak to Spirit directly in order to know why this is the case], so in order to truly understand love, we first need to understand fear.

When we have had enough of war, crime, disease, greed and all other forms of suffering, which are all aspects of fear, we will then seek the opposite, love, and we will understand it, embrace it and appreciate it.

If you’re in a state of fear, which living with parkinson’s can certainly create, please remember that this is a necessary part of your journey, one that is intended to guide you towards love and good health!

Here are the things I’ve been doing to transform fear into love and happiness:

  • I remind myself when I’m feeling fear that it is just my thoughts and if I can create fear with my thoughts then I can also create happiness
  • I focus on doing my best
  • I do my best to be happy [I say hallelujah a lot]
  • I do my best to face my fears
  • I do my best to live in the present moment
  • I do my best to accept the present circumstances
  • I do the things that help me feel good about myself. I practice kindness, gratitude, forgiveness, compassion, helpfulness and acting with integrity
  • I read spiritual books [A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle is my favourite]
  • I watch spiritual videos, especially by Eckhart Tolle, Teal Swan and Joel Osteen
  • I practice Qigong
  • I do my best to live by the philosophy that everything is unfolding in my life the way it is meant to, and no matter what happens, I can handle it
  • I do my best to accept that fear is part of the experience [in fact, I believe that Spirit wants us to experience fear to see how we handle it] and I remind myself that nothing can truly keep us safe.

Have an awesomely loving day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 152 … More on Fear!

  1. Fred,
    Your post is again heart warming and encouraging. I know you must be going through a lot, reading your last posts. Im shure we all are prone to these fears. I know I am. I get lots of uplift, reading your warm encouragements. Im shure you understand by now that english is not my 1st language, but I guess you know what I mean. :0)

Leave a Reply

