My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 150 … Coping with Anxiety!

calmOne of the more significant challenges I face living with a neurotransmitter condition [parkinson’s] is coping with anxiety. This morning, I experienced it in spades when I made an appearance on our local cable television station. I was filming a segment on martial arts and even though I’ve been on the show several times and know the hosts very well, I was still feeling enormous anxiety. It was in part, magnified by how I have been feeling about my father’s deteriorating health. I have also been feeling a lot of anxiety about announcing changes to our program at the karate club. I think they’re very positive changes, but you never know how people are going to react. As an example, while most of the world celebrated the end of apartheid in South Africa in 1989, there were many people [including people in positions of power] who didn’t. You just never know!

I considered canceling my appearance on the show, but decided in the end to just go for it. Despite my nervousness and rather obvious trembling, it went well and I got through it.

In my experience, coping with anxiety is enormously challenging and I don’t like the feeling! I hate it quite frankly! It’s hard to think straight. It sends the symptoms I experience through the roof and it messes me up mentally. But it’s all part of the experience, an aspect that definitely requires acceptance.

Anxiety is largely the result of adrenal fatigue which is in turn caused by the body being in a constant state of fight or flight [stress] due to the mind being in a state of chronic fear.

There are several things I do to cope with anxiety:

  1. I take an adrenal support supplement [Natural Factors Stress Relax Serenity Formula]
  2. I use Rescue Remedy, a Bach Flower Essence
  3. I practice Qigong
  4. I use a lot of positive self talk
  5. I deep breathe
  6. I repeat my healing mantra [see below]

Yes, anxiety is not fun. Not at all! And so it helps me to remember something someone told me last year. Anxiety is just fear wanting to leave the body. This is very encouraging because it suggests there is an end to this exprience. Strengthen the adrenals, dissolve the beliefs that are causing the fear and put the mind in a happy, loving state. Time to get to work!

Have an awesomely calm day!

Healing mantra: “Thank you Spirit for neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my heart, my body and my being, all of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy at the root of the anxiety I am feeling, and I thank you Spirit for this healing and I thank you for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 150 … Coping with Anxiety!

  1. Dear Fred

    Anxiety is something I get and, like you, don’t like it at all. I don’t like too much standing because my balance can be a bit off and find supermarkets and certain stores quite intimidating. I think too I don’t like it when I’m not in control. Thank you for sharing.

    All the best Cynthia (from England)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Hi Fred – I’ve seen a few books recently on the subject of anxiety and using CBT (Cognitive Behavioral Therapy) to help. Have not bought one yet to test out, just wondering if you or any readers have tried this “technology”. These books are not specific to PD, but address the general cases of anxiety I believe.

    Also back in my public speaking days I would use self hypnosis to visualize a successful presentation. When I didn’t do this, my presentation was awkward and not so good!

    Best Wishes, Brian

Leave a Reply

