My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 145 … Buckwheat Pancakes!

pancakesWhen you’re on a strict, limited diet, any opportunity to add variety is very welcome. My diet is high fat, low carb, no fruit [and mostly bland]. It means a lot of coconut oil, avocados, Brazil nuts, sunflower seeds, vegetables, eggs, with modest amounts of chicken, beef, wild meat and wild fish [the chicken and beef is organic whenever possible].  As you can imagine, I often crave for something different. So you can understand my glee when I discovered buckwheat pancakes. Mari suggested them to me [she really does have my back]!

Buckwheat, contrary to its name, is not a wheat. It is the seed of a broadleaf plant [similar to rhubarb] that originated in southeast Asia and it is free of gluten. After being domesticated approximately 8,000 years ago, it slowly migrated westward to the Middle East and Europe. It is a staple in Eastern Europe, but not well known in North America.

Buckwheat is considered a super food as it contains all the essential amino acids. It is also loaded with important fatty acids, and while it is high in carbohydrate content, it’s carbohydrates are non-glycemic.

I started eating cooked buckwheat a couple of years ago, shortly after I met Mari. And, a couple of months ago [after listening to me fret about my limited food options], Mari suggested I try some buckwheat pancakes, after discovering buckwheat flour in our local bulk food store. They were an immediate hit!

Buckwheat pancakes are extremely easy to make, healthy and quite filling, particularly when smothered with sunflower seed butter [ideally organic] or humus [ideally organic]. I tried organic peanut butter with them, but it gave me gas.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour [ideally. organic sprouted]
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Sprinkle of sea salt
  • 1 egg [ideally, free-run, grass fed]
  • 2 tablespoons liquid coconut oil or olive oil
  • Water [to desired thickness]
  • Coconut flakes [optional]
  • Chia seeds [optional]

So give them a try. As I said, they’re easy to make and taste great!

Have an awesomely filling day!

10 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 145 … Buckwheat Pancakes!

  1. Wow Fred,
    Thats a nice coincidence.Im im the same boat. Last week I bought buckwheat flour.
    Looking forward making them tomorrow!

  2. Lots of good information and I love that you put things in a diary mode. I too was having the delimma of loosing 60 pounds and then told no carbs. but modified seems to be the way to go for me.
    Thank you so much for lending all this wonderful information to us! Suzi

  3. Your blog is a God send. My husband has been diagnosed with PD at the age of 33. I am hoping to help him with his diet. Do you think you could do a updated blog post on what your meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner are? I know it’s a lot to ask. Thank you so very much for the great service you are providing for those of us who are starting out. We are so very grateful.

  4. I have half a banana and some berries in my daily smoothie. And maybe a plum, peach or grapes later in the day. Do you think that’s too much fruit?

Leave a Reply

