My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 130 … Turning the Situation in Your Favour!

suitsThere is a scene in the delightfully slick television series, Suits, where Mike Ross says to his mentor, Harvey Specter, “If someone sticks a gun in your face, open your coat and show him the bomb strapped to your chest!” In other words, turn a negative situation into one that is in your favour, and in so doing, put yourself in a position of power!

This is a great attitude to have when dealing with a neurotransmitter imbalance [Parkinson’s] or any other chronic health condition. It has certainly helped me out enormously!

Here are some of the things I’ve done to empower myself:

  • I don’t take medication. Taking medication would put the neurologist in charge of my healing, and quite frankly, I would rather be in charge. The neurologist has over 800 other patients, so he has little time for me or understanding of my needs. Besides, as deceased ex-Beatle, George Harrison, once said, “Doctors study disease, they don’t study health.” They don’t have a good understanding of diet or detoxification or healing emotional pain or dissolving fear, the essentials of true healing. And I like what Howard Shifke, the American lawyer who fully recovered from Parkinson’s, had to say about this subject.  He said, “For 200 years the medical community has been treating Parkinson’s with medication and they haven’t cured one person, so why would I want to take medication?”
  • I don’t think of myself as having Parkinson’s Disease. Rather, I think of it as what it actually is, a neurotransmitter imbalance. The idea of dealing with a disease is vague and intimidating.  Whereas, the notion of addressing a neurotransmitter imbalance is more specific and scientific. It requires a specific protocol for returning the body to homeostasis, which is something I can deal with.
  • I never considered my condition incurable. If the body is capable of healing a cut or broken bone, then it is capable of healing anything, including a neurotransmitter imbalance.  It just needs the right nutrients and conditions to do so. What is more, I have learned of at least three people who have fully recovered from this neurotransmitter imbalance.  Clearly, it is curable!
  • I do a lot of research and testing. The medical community, which includes the neurologist I see, has hung its hat on the theory that Parkinson’s is a result of a dopamine deficiency [dopamine is a neurotransmitter produced in the brain] due to the premature death of the brain cells that produce it. And they use a drug to treat it [Sinemet]. Through research, I have learned that the brain cells don’t actually die, they just stop producing dopamine [and other neurotransmitters] due to inactivity, and under the right conditions [elimination of stress] they will begin producing it again. This knowledge has given me confidence that my natural treatment protocol is the right approach. God bless the Internet!
  • I write this blog. Writing this blog has allowed me to connect with countless people from around the world who have shared their stories, their ideas and their successes.  It has also enabled me to help others, which has been invaluable to my confidence and state of mind.  Again, God bless the Internet!
  • I turned fear into my ally. When I started experiencing panic attacks last year, I learned that fear [panic attacks] is the result of false beliefs [negative thoughts], but rather than go on medication, which would have only suppressed the emotions, I chose to focus on thinking more positively. including making a list of all the positive things that have happened in my life as a result of this condition, such as living a healthier lifestyle.  In other words, rather than letting fear work against me, I made it work for me!

There is another reason to want to take charge of your journey.  In Paulo Coelho’s best-selling novel, The Alchemist, a young shepherd boy learns that when you want something, all the universe conspires to help you achieve it.  But in order for you to accomplish your goal, you must take responsibility for it.  If you relinquish control to others, you will be at the mercy of their decisions and their goals.

I sometimes feel like the sailor who has no control over the ocean, only how he sails it! It hasn’t been easy and although I have had many difficult days, many strong winds and choppy seas to contend with, I have always felt like I was in charge of two things [at least to the extent that Creator leashes or unleashes the nautical storms on me]: the decisions I make and my attitude. And like the protagonist in The Alchemist, clearly I feel like the universe has been conspiring to help me achieve my goal. But in order for this to happen I needed to take ownership of my journey. I needed to open my jacket and show Mr. Parkinson the bomb strapped to my chest.

Have an awesomely empowered day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 130 … Turning the Situation in Your Favour!

  1. Love this post!!! Dealing with PD myself. YOur blog helps me stay optimistic and focused on the positive…Thanks so much!!Also choosing to heal naturally. Thanks again!!

    • Thank you so much Christy! I hope you are well! Have you read the books by Robert Rodgers, John Coleman and Bianca Molle? They’re awesome books and available on Amazon! Also, I will be posting a blog this weekend about Qigong. I’m finding it very beneficial and I can see why Bianca and Howard Shifke were able to completely recover by practicing it.

      Have an awesome day!
      Fred

  2. Fred, I love what you’re doing – taking your health into your own hands. I think we, ourselves are usually the best judge of what works and doesn’t work for us. By listening to our bodies, we’re in the best position to take care of it.

  3. I have Qigong and those books on very next thing list. I just read their stories this week and was very inspired and hopeful. Looking forward to your post on Qiqong!

Leave a Reply

