My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 115 … Our spiritual journey always supersedes the physical!

labyrinth1I love epiphanies! Insights! They’re like opening presents under the Christmas tree! Makes you feel like a wide-eyed kid!

I had an epiphany this morning. Our spiritual journeys always supersede the physical. The impetus for this epiphany, was my  ponderance over why I experienced an improvement in my symptoms this past summer and a worsening this fall. I kind of knew the answer [that I had more to learn], but wasn’t 100% certain. And so I walked up to the labyrinth near my house with this question in mind.

Shortly into my walk through the labyrinth [a great metaphor], the answer came to me. Whenever our physical journey becomes a challenge, when we experience a setback in regards to our health, finances, relationships, etc., there is likely a spiritual lesson coming our way, because our spiritual growth always comes first.  In fact, most issues that we experience on the physical level happen so that we can grow spiritually.  Knowing this helps me surrender to the experience because I know that it is happening for a reason.

I have learned so much in the last three months, most notably, that fear [which I believe is at the root of the neurotransmitter imbalance that manifests itself in the symptoms we call Parkinson’s], is mostly the creation of our egoic minds [our thoughts]. And in order to let go of fear, we need only dissolve ego [negative thoughts]. What is more, we don’t need to actively do anything to dissolve ego. We need only be aware of its presence [when we are in a negative thought pattern or feeling fear] and remind ourselves that what we are thinking or feeling is the work of ego, and it’s not real. This, and doing our best to live in what Eckhart Tolle calls the conscious presence of the present moment, will eventually dissolve ego and fear, allowing our bodies to return to homeostasis.

And so for now, the labyrinth of life leads me further from the center [recovery] in order for me to further my spiritual growth. I am not distressed, for I trust that what is happening, is happening for me, not to me!

Have an awesomely spiritual day!

Leave a Reply

