My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 105 … No More Grapes

grapesIn June of this year, following a great deal of trial and testing, I concluded that the Ketogenic diet, characterized by high fat,  moderate protein and low carb foods [lots of avocados, coconut oil, olive oil, fish oil, flax oil, eggs, nuts and seeds], was the ideal diet for me in my quest to recover from Parkinson’s. And I have been feeling much better since. There has even been a slight reversal in the symptoms I experience.

So on Friday, I decided to have some grapes … organic grapes! My decision to eat grapes was based solely on my love of these sweet little gems. It had nothing  to do with me wanting to test the water by giving fruit a try for the day. And I gorged myself!

Well, by bedtime that night, I was feeling pretty rough.  I was having a great deal of difficulty with movement and balance. It was quite noticeable. And yesterday I felt even worse. Achy, agitated, more jittery than usual and very sleepy, and my balance was really off.

Today I am feeling very irritable, in part I suspect due to waking up several times during the night. Perhaps a grape hangover!

So, no more grapes for me! The assault on my neurochemistry and well-being isn’t worth the indulgence!

On a positive note, it seems to me that if fruit [high sugar] can have such a negative affect on me, then it stands to reason increasing the fat content of my diet could have a positive affect, so I’m going to increase the amount of avocados and coconut oil I’m eating and see what happens.

Have an awesomely balanced day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 105 … No More Grapes

    • I haven’t been able to highlight any specific benefits Tracy, but I do believe it is essential for healing a neurological condition based on everything I’ve researched. Cheers! Fred

Leave a Reply

