My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 100 … Healing – The Pressure is Off

geyserSince being diagnosed with Parkinson’s, I have had the mindset that I had to heal myself. In so doing, I put a lot of pressure on myself and caused myself a lot of stress [which has paradoxically been working against my efforts to heal myself]. The reality is however, I have nothing to heal, which makes a lot of sense when I think about it because I’m not really a ‘healer!’

Initially, I thought I could ‘heal myself’ by releasing the unresolved emotional pain at the root of the condition. Then I thought I could heal myself by going on a strict, healthy diet. Then I thought I could heal myself by letting go of anger. Earlier this year, I similarly believed that I could heal myself by letting go of fear. More recently I thought I could heal myself by dissolving ego.

Each step along the way, I thought ‘I’ had to be the healer. The truth is, I don’t have to heal myself. That’s not my job! All I have to do is give my body the right conditions to enable it to heal itself. This has really taken the pressure off, knowing that ‘I’m’ not responsible for healing ‘myself.’ I do have an important role to play, but at least I no longer have to ‘heal’ myself.

What I have to do is not trivial.  In fact, is quite important, but it’s like focusing on doing your best rather than focusing on winning.  Winning is an uncertainty, but everyone can do their best and it’s doing your best that creates the potential for winning.  Similarly, there is no guarantee that I can be healed.  My healing is an uncertainty that I can’t directly control.  There are however two really important things I can do [that I definitely have control of] that will make my healing possible. One requires discipline and the other requires diligence. The first thing I can do [and am doing] is eat healthy foods. This requires discipline. Eating healthy foods accomplishes two things: it provides the nutrients I need to keep my body healthy, and it detoxes my body. The second, thing I can do is live in conscious presence. This requires diligence.  I need to be diligent about living in the present moment.  Diligent about being true to my authentic spiritual nature.  Diligent about remaining connected to Creator [God] by being kind, forgiving, grateful, compassionate and loving.

This indeed takes the pressure off because I can do both of these things quite easily.

There are four other things I can do that will improve my chances of healing. I can exercise, strengthen my adrenal glands, have a positive attitude and have any physical damage to my body corrected,  and gain, I am able to do these things.

At the end of the day, I don’t need to assume responsibility for healing myself! I just need to believe that I’m capable of being healed and do the things I need to do in order to expedite the process.

Talk about taking the pressure off!

Have an awesomely relaxed day!

Leave a Reply

