My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 93 … Purging … Very Symbolic!

balloonI’m moving at the end of the month and consequently, I’m purging a lot of stuff. I’m getting rid of old electronic equipment, office supplies, clothing, etc.  You name it, it’s going!  Stuff that the hoarder in me [which is thankfully quite small] was convinced I might use someday [but haven’t in the last five years and likely never will].

The symbology of this experience has not been lost on me!  As I remove stuff from my home I can’t help but see the connection with the emotional stuff I am purging, particularly ego, fear and anger.

The one difference is that while the material stuff hasn’t been used in a long time, the emotional stuff has been getting a lot of use.  Clearly I would be much better off if it were the other way around!  I would certainly be doing a lot less purging!

While sorting through the various boxes and containers I have discovered some stuff that brings back rather unpleasant memories.  It is definitely high time to get rid of this stuff, although as I do so, it is with understanding and forgiveness; understanding of the purpose of certain unpleasant experiences and forgiveness towards all those involved, including me.

Purging isn’t the only symbolic gesture here.  The move itself is also very symbolic.  I am leaving a very busy, noisy street for a much quieter lakefront location, at the same time I’m transitioning from a very noisy mental state to one that is much more at peace. I am very much looking forward to my new digs living and feeling much lighter.

Have an awesomely cleaning day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 93 … Purging … Very Symbolic!

  1. Hello Fred!

    What a busy time for you! Moving is never an easy task however your new place sounds wonderful. There is nothing more tranquil and peaceful than a lakeside setting! Best of luck on the move!

    Anita.

Leave a Reply

