My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 91 … Dissolving Ego with Gratitude!

karateOn Monday evenings, I teach four karate classes, beginning with the 4 and 5 year olds at 5:45 PM and ending with the adults at 8:30 PM. During the class for ages 6 to 9, I suddenly found myself fretting over the lack of students. There were 15 students in the class but I was anticipating between 20 and 30. It wasn’t so much that I was fretting about the lack of students, but I also realized that I had taken it a step further and was worrying about the lack of money coming in and where it might leave me financially at the end of the month. I couldn’t believe how quickly I had fallen out of consciousness and into ego [stupid ego as Homer Simpson would say!]. Rather than being grateful for the students who were there, I was feeling very disappointed and fearful about the lack of students.

So what does this have to do with recovering from Parkinson’s. I believe that part of, if not the sole, purpose of disease is to help us see through the dark veil of ego to the bright light of consciousness, because at the root of disease is fear and anger and at the root of fear and anger is ego. In other words, part of the process of recovering from disease involves dissolving ego in order to live consciously [in loving oneness with all that is].

When we live in ego, we live in fear, anger, bitterness and hatred, whereas living consciously is characterized by love, trust, kindness, compassion, forgiveness and gratitude … everything we need in order to end suffering on the planet.

If you’ve been reading my recent blogs, you’ll know that I have changed my focus from using prayer to let go of fear and anger, to doing so by dissolving ego. It is ego [or the egoic mind as Eckhart Tolle describes it] that causes us to live in fear and anger, and so, dissolving ego is the ideal way to let go of these destructive emotions.

And so, I will be diligent about my thoughts during karate class and in order to let my consciousness shine I will focus on being grateful for the students that are in attendance and I will focus my energy on making it the best experience possible.

Have an awesomely grateful day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 91 … Dissolving Ego with Gratitude!

  1. Yes – “dissolving ego is the ideal way to let go of these destructive emotions.” I couldn’t say it better. I will have an “awesomely grateful day” and I wish the same for you!! 🙂 Peace & Love, Lorlinda

Leave a Reply

