Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: What I’ve Learned from My Experience

labyrinthNo discussion about the steps I’ve taken in order to begin recovering from Parkinson’s would be complete without a review of what I’ve learned during the process. In a blog I wrote a few months ago, I listed seven valuable things I had learned up to that point that have been instrumental in the beginning of my recovery. The list has grown since then.

The original list included the following. I learned about:

  •  the role of back tension in the development of chronic health issues
  • the interactive relationships between all the systems of the body, including the Central Nervous System, Endocrine System, Digestive System and Immune System
  •  the role of the immune system and that 80% of the IS (Immunoglobulin A) is in the lining of the gastrointestinal tract
  • leaky gut and that it involves the destruction of both healthy gut flora and the mucosal lining of the GI tract
  •  the role of the lymphatic system in removing metabolic wastes from our cells and keeping the body healthy
  • the role of inflammation in the development of disease and the role the IS plays in eliminating inflammation
  • how to restore health by detoxing the body … restoring gut health, strengthening the IS, alkalining the body, eliminating inflammation and unclogging the lymph system

Since posting this blog, my journey with Parkinson’s has brought me three more critically essential lessons. First, is the role of fear in the development of Parkinson’s. In fact, in many ways, Parkinson’s is fear. Since coming face to face with fear, my focus has changed from recovering from Parkinson’s to releasing fear, because it more than anything else, I believe, is at the root of the condition. Fear, that is, chronic fear, causes the body to be in a constant state of fight or flight, which puts the body in a constant state of stress. This constant state of stress leads to an overabundance of the stress hormones, adrenaline, cortisol and norepinephrine, which in turn causes the part of the brain that produces dopamine, serotonin and other calming neurotransmitters to shut down, thus leading to the development of the symptoms of Parkinson’s.

The second important learning has to do with muscle memory. I still don’t fully understand it, but I do know that certain exercises or activities, such as playing baseball, can be performed as if the body didn’t have Parkinson’s. This awareness has been helping me overcome immobility, a very debilitating symptom. In researching muscle memory I also learned about the creation of neuro-athways in the brain, such as what happens when you learn to ride a bicycle, which has helped me create specific exercises to stimulate and retrain my brain.

Thirdly, I’ve discovered that healing a chronic health condition is much like walking a labyrinth. [A labyrinth is a single circular path that winds its way back and forth in a specific pattern towards the center. There is one way in and out.] There is no straight line from beginning to end. Rather it is a circular journey with lots of twists and turns and changes of direction that sometimes lead you very close to your goal and sometimes take you away from it. When I first discovered that I had Parkinson’s I thought I could heal myself simply by healing the root emotional cause of the condition. I soon discovered that it would not be that simple and that I had to address other issues like gut health, the immune system, the lymphatic system and removing inflammation. Again, at this point I thought I had all the information I needed to heal myself, but then I learned about the role of fear. Another hurdle to overcome. Several times over the years, I thought I was close to healing myself only to discover a new challenge, taking me in a new direction. Understanding labyrinths has been immensely important in understanding the journey I’m on.

I believe that every experience has a purpose and part of that purpose is to teach us something, perhaps so we can assist others, and always so we can find our spiritual center. We all live in oneness as part of the flow of life and everything we learn affects the whole. I believe that I and others [because I’m not the only who has learned this stuff] were meant to discover a different, more natural, way of recovering our health in order to show everyone that it’s possible, and more importantly, to show everyone that we don’t have to get sick in the first place. It is indeed possible for humankind to live in wellness.

8 comments on “Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: What I’ve Learned from My Experience

  1. You inspire me Fred to never give up, and to keep positive, currently I’m experimenting with seeing how long I can go without any meds, so far so good…..thank you for your encouragement.!

    • That’s terrific Rebecca! You can definitely do it! I believe in my heart that nobody needs to be on medication. It’s just a matter of awareness and understanding the truth of what’s really at the root of Parkinson’s.

      I would urge you to focus on two things. First, detox your body by eating pure, mostly raw, organic foods. This will alkaline your body, heal your gastrointestinal tract, strengthen your immune system, rid your body of inflammation and get your lymph system flowing.

      Second, focus on letting go of fear. Make a list of all the things that you are fearing right now and that you were afraid of growing up. This will help bring to the surface the unconscious fears that are really at the root of Parkinson’s. As you make this list continually tell yourself that these fears aren’t real. They’re just thoughts and if you can create these fears with your thoughts you can uncreate them.

      Please remember that it is possible for you to recover your health. The notion that Parkinson’s is incurable is nonsense! Lots of people have recovered already.

      Laugh lots, dance and sing like nobody’s watching! Happiness cures!

      I hope this helps Rebecca!

      Have an awesome day!
      Fred

  2. hi fred
    i really appreciate all the time you’ve spent sharing your journey. i was diagnosed last year and hve so far not taken meds even though at times i am very debilitated. at present i am finding insomnia and fatigue the most challenging aspect of my journey. do you hve any suggestions–during the last week alone i hve had three completely sleepless nights and i find the days very difficult. i live alone too so isolation becomes more of a problem when i am too fatigued to go out.
    thnx again for your wonderful site fred
    lily

    • Hi Lily … Thank you for your message! I’m sorry to hear about your challenges with sleeping. I would suggest you address three things: exercise, diet/supplements and stress.

      Exercise is vital for sleep! Whether you walk, swim, join a gym, take up yoga or whatever, 1/2 hour to an hour of exercise every day will definitely help you sleep better because it stimulates the production of melatonin, a neurotransmitter that induces sleep. I find that exercise helps minimize all symptoms related to Parkinson’s.

      As it relates to diet, I have found that the ketogenic diet works best. It is a high fat, low carb diet. It is a calming diet. I would also recommend avoiding all sugars, including fruit. Fruit really exacerbates my symptoms, including my sleeping patterns.

      Magnesium is a really important supplement to take, particularly one that includes calcium, potassium and zinc. The brand I like is Natural Factors. Six capsules per day works best for me, but I would suggest starting with one capsule per day and working up to six. It is also best to take a vitamin D3 supplement and boron as they will help in the absorption and metabolism of magnesium. I would also recommend B-complex and vitamin C. Finally, I would suggest a supplement that helps strengthen the adrenal glands. The one I prefer is Natural Factors Stress Relax Serenity Formula. I take six capsules a day.

      It is also really important to try and eliminate stress as much as possible [which I know is a challenge when you’re living with the symptoms of Parkinson’s]. Please don’t believe that you are living with a degenerative incurable disease. Parkinson’s is definitely curable. I highly recommend the book by Robert Rodgers [road to recovery from parkinson’s disease]. The profiles a number of people have recovered from Parkinson’s. You might also want to join the ‘beyond parkinson’s disease’ facebook page

      I really believe that fear is that the root of Parkinson’s, both the fear we’ve lived with all our lives and the fear of having this condition. But the truth is, fear is not real, it’s just our thoughts. And if we can create fear with our thoughts, then we can uncreate it by thinking differently. Another book you might wanna read is Eckhart Tolle’s, A New Earth. It has been very helpful in putting my mind at ease so that I sleep very well.

      I hope this has been helpful and please let me know if you have any other questions.

      Cheers,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

